Algorithmic Art (This page is only an outline, to be developped and reordered in the future)

Algorithmic Art would be the art for creating images with the help of (computation) algorithms. It can be understood in a very strict sense, as algorists do, by forbidding any not algorithmic intervention, or in a more relaxed manner, by tolerating a post-processing through graphic software, or through photomontage techniques (as is the case for my Markus-Lyapunov pictures). It is obvious that no artistic school can keep its boundaries closed for long and that somebody will, ever, appear to mix the styles.

A pionneer, Yiochiro Kawaguchi, is still winning recent competitions with his pictures.

Not all the pictures are fractal. Fractal techniques are often used in the background in order to give complexity to pictures, but other techniques are possible (such as the plotter images of Roman Verostko or the plane mappings of Escher). On the other hand one can also prefer a minimalist zen-like simplicity (for instance, see Jean Pierre Hébert).

The algorists do not recommend any artistic style or any digital technique (moreover, they admit non-numerical algorithms). They insist upon obtaining artworks in a pure algorithmic way, with no post-processing. The result can be an image as well as a sculpture, or even an ephemeral drawing on the sand! They consider algorithms an important part of the originality of the work, which makes me doubtful. If one admits that the public must be able to appreciate an artwork with no special information about the author, all these requirements on the creative process look excessive, as would be any ban on mixing various pictural techniques.

The algorithmic pictures are not limited to fractal pictures like mines or Fractint-like pictures. They include

  • visualizations of classical computations, such as the rendering of "classical" surfaces (i.e. non fractal) computed with software like Mathematica or Mathlab. As an example, see the minimal surfaces of Helaman Ferguson or Séquin and Collins (IEEE Computer Graphics and Applications, November 1998, pps 15-20);
  • the fractal landscapes of Kenton Musgrave, far more complex and realistic than what can be achieved so far with the popular commercial landscape generators. Kenton Musgrave attaches a great importance to the algorithms that were defined by himself or his students, and he defines himself as an algorist. However, since he has now joined the design group of Bryce, these algorithms might become a part of a future super-Bryce, and that an artist could use them unknowingly. Where will go the future artworks produced in this way, when compared to those of Kenton Musgrave?
  • the genetic pictures are obtained through a succession of mutations of an initial image, following selection rules inspired by genetics. The reference names are Karl Simms and Steven Rooke, but Kenton Musgrave also did preliminary attempts in this field.
  • Lastly, one can build abstract virtual sceneries with the help of 3-D software and render them as abstract pictures (through ray-tracing, for instance), quite as attractive as our fractal pictures. One can get "purely" algorithmic pictures by controlling the 3-D modeler automatically, but one can control it "by hand" as well, just as a virtual sculptor; it could be difficult to perceive the difference on the final result. I believe that the pictures of Yiochiro Kawaguchi belong to this category, and also those of Robert H. Russ (IEEE Computer Graphics and Applications, March 1995, pps. 4-6)

Click here to visit a small gallery with a few samples of these pictures.

 

Preceding Page


[ Return to home page ]    [ Art and Fractals Contents ]

Discovering the fractal world:
Introduction - Mandelbrot Exploration - Lyapounov Exploration - Von Koch Curves - IFS Fractals - Fractal Dimension - Mandelbrot Relatives - Finest Fractal Pictures - Software - Biblio and Links

Fractals and mysticism:
Introduction - The Mysticism of Infinite - Non-Euclidean Art?

A new Art?
Introduction - Fascination of Fractals - Fractals and Photography - Definitions of Art - The Colour Choice - Other Colour Choices - Fractalists Painters - Compositions with Mandelbrot - Put a pretty girl - Algorithmic Art - Beyond the "Fractal" Art

L'Art Algorithmique (Cette page est juste une ébauche, à approfondir et à mettre en forme)

C'est l'art de faire de faire des images par le calcul. On peut le comprendre dans un sens très strict, comme le font les algoristes, en exigeant qu'il n'y ait rien d'autre que le calcul, ou tolérer que le calcul brut soit suivi de retouches diverses dans des logiciels graphiques, voire intégré à des photo-montages (c'est le cas de mes images Markus-Lyapounov). Il est évident qu'aucune école artistique ne peut conserver bien longtemps de frontière bien rigoureuse et qu'il y aura toujours quelqu'un pour mélanger les genres.

Un pionnier, Yiochiro Kawaguchi, gagne encore des concours récents avec ses images.

On ne trouvera pas que des images fractales. Les techniques fractales sont souvent utilisées en arrière plan pour donner de la complexité aux images, mais il y a d'autres façons de façons de donner de la complexité (cf les images faites au traceur de courbes par Roman Verostko ou les pavages plans de Escher), et puis il y a des images algorithmiques qui recherchent plutôt une simplicité "zen" (cf Jean Pierre Hébert)

Les algoristes ne représentent pas une technique numérique particulière, mais plutôt une attitude philosophique, celle d'arriver à un résultat artistique par une pure démarche algorithmique. Le résultat peut être une image aussi bien que de la sculpture. Les algorithmes ne sont pas forcément numériques, mais doivent faire partie de l'originalité de l'oeuvre. Si on croit comme moi qu'une oeuvre doit parler d'elle-même au public sans que l'on doive l'accompagner par une information sur la démarche spirituelle de l'auteur, ces exigences sur le processus créatif de l'oeuvre paraîtront excessives, comme le serait toute interdiction de mélanger plusieurs techniques picturales.

Les images algorithmiques ne se limitent pas aux images fractales comme les miennes ou les images à la Fractint. On y trouve

  • des visualisations de calculs classiques comme les visualisations de surfaces "classiques" (c.à.d. non fractales) calculées par des logiciels du genre Mathematica ou Mathlab. Dans ce genre, on trouvera les surfaces minimales de Helaman Ferguson ou Séquin et Collins (IEEE Computer Graphics and Applications, Novembre 1998, pps 15-20)
  • les paysages fractaux de Kenton Musgrave, bien plus complexes et réalistes que ce que savent faire les générateurs de paysage populaires actuels. Kenton Musgrave attache évidemment beaucoup d'importance aux algorithmes que lui et son équipe ont définis et mis en oeuvres, et il se définit comme un algoriste. Mais comme il fait maintenant partie de l'équipe des concepteurs de Bryce, il se pourrait que ces algorithmes fassent partie d'un super-Bryce à venir et qu'un artiste puisse les utiliser de manière inconsciente. Où iront se classer les oeuvres ainsi produites, par rapport à celles de Kenton Musgrave ?
  • les images génétiques sont obtenues par une suite de mutations d'une image de départ, suivant des règles de sélection inspirées de la génétique. Les noms de référence sont Karl Simms et Steven Rooke, mais Kenton Musgrave s'y est également intéressé.
  • Enfin, on peut construire des scènes virtuelles abstraites au moyen de logiciels 3-D et en tirer des images abstraites (par tracé de rayons, par exemple) qui seront comparables à certaines des images fractales qu'on a pu voir plus haut. Si on peut contrôler les entrées du logiciel 3-D, la scène peut être construite de manière algorithmique et on obtient une vraie image algorithmique, mais on peut aussi concevoir de piloter le logiciel 3-D "à la main", comme un sculpteur virtuel; il pourrait être difficile de voir la différence sur le résultat final. Je pense que les images de Yiochiro Kawaguchi appartiennent à cette catégorie, ainsi que celles de Robert H. Russ (IEEE Computer Graphics and Applications, March 1995, pps. 4-6)
La petite galerie ci-après donne quelques échantillons de ces images

 

Retour à la page précédente


[ Retour à la page d'accueil ]    [ Sommaire Art et fractales ]

A la découverte du monde des fractales :
Introduction - Exploration Mandelbrot - Exploration Lyapounov - Courbes de Von Koch - Fractales IFS - Dimension fractale - Cousins de Mandelbrot - Les plus belles fractales - Logiciels - Biblio et liens

Fractales et Mythes :
Introduction - Mystique de l'infini - Art non euclidien?

Un nouvel art ?
Introduction - La fascination des fractales - Fractales et photographie - Définitions de l'Art - Le choix des couleurs - Autres choix de couleurs - Les peintres fractalistes - Compositions avec des Mandelbrot - Une jolie fille devant - Art Algorithmique -
Au delà de l'art "fractal"