ART WITH MANDELBROT PICTURES?

I have explained why I consider that the most beautiful Mandelbrot pictures are not true art, but, at most, collector's pieces. What can be done to go beyond this status? Well, the collection itself may merit a higher rank. In this sense, a few years ago, I produced a diaporama (i.e. dissolving views with recorded sound) with such pictures. To tell it straight out, this is the packaging of the collection, but this can be done with talent and invention, in the same way as marvels can be found in pictures frames –the great achievement being to get some harmony between frames and pictures.

I must say, I was seldom convinced in the field of mere pictures. The trouble with the best Mandelbrot pictures is their richness and their too high symmetry. They are perfect in themselves and there is nothing to be added. Surely, one can always put a pretty girl in front of them; they were put into so many strange sceneries... But undoubtly, questions will arise about the relationship between the girl and the scenery; answers will be provided, again undoubtly, but I am afraid they might be somewhat artificial. Mandelbrot pictures have nothing to do with life and bodies; they cannot be said inhuman, they simply belong somewhere else.

Nevertheless, I find a few virtues to the picture on the left, because I read it mainly at a graphical level. First of all, this is the contrast of two movements. The opposition then is reinforced with the contrast of natures, life on the one hand and mathematical abstraction on the other hand. Of course, the gymnast was carefully located in the composition. Notice that the Mandelbrot picture is not among the most complicated and that it is not quite rich enough to completely fill the frame on its own.

(© Daniel Boiteau 1995)

The picture on the right shows another attempt at using Mandelbrot pieces in an artistic way. It comes from The Sentinel, a 1989 three-dimensional animation written by Bradley W. Schenck in a dark epic medieval atmosphere. You can see Mandelbrot parts (spirals and black disks) on the pillars on both sides of the door. Why not? Of course, on this scale, all the rich tiny details are lost and one cannot feel any fractal vertigo. We are just left with a discreet symbol for initiated persons -but there are always such people behind mysterious stories...

(© Bradley W. Schenck)

Image Kucoyanis  

Here is another attempt, very different from the previous ones, without human reference through any scenery or a human being. The picture must be read at a graphical level. The author plays with simple but efficient contrasts:
 - simple lines (triangle, circles) against the complex lines in the fractal,
 - contrast of vivid colours,
 - tridimensional shapes against plane figures,
 - closed lines (circles, triangle) against the trails radiating from the fractal.
All this works perfectly, but again we notice that the author has used a very simple fractal picture. Indeed, the dark blue shape has a complicated contour, but we are far from the richness in the details of the most "beautiful" Mandelbrot pictures. The question remains open: is it possible to make art from the best pieces in the collection, and how?

(© Pierre Kucoyanis and Univers Mac #73)

 

Preceding Page


[ Return to home page ]    [ Art and Fractals Contents ]

Discovering the fractal world:
Introduction - Mandelbrot Exploration - Lyapounov Exploration - Von Koch Curves - IFS Fractals - Fractal Dimension - Mandelbrot Relatives - Finest Fractal Pictures - Software - Biblio and Links

Fractals and mysticism:
Introduction - The Mysticism of Infinite - Non-Euclidean Art?

A new Art?
Introduction - Fascination of Fractals - Fractals and Photography - Definitions of Art - The Colour Choice - Other Colour Choices - Fractalists Painters - Compositions with Mandelbrot - Put a pretty girl - Algorithmic Art - Beyond the "Fractal" Art

DE L'ART AVEC DES MANDELBROT ?

Que peut-on faire avec les Mandelbrot pour aller au delà de leur statut de simples pièces de collection ?

Dans le domaine de l'image unique, j'ai rarement été convaincu. L'ennui, avec les belles images Mandelbrot, vient de leur richesse et de leur trop grande symétrie; les images sont parfaites comme cela, il n'y a rien à rajouter. Bien sûr, on peut toujours mettre une jolie fille devant - on les a mises dans tant de décors saugrenus... Mais on s'interrogera immanquablement sur la relation entre la fille et le décor et on peut craindre que les réponses (on en trouve, bien sûr) ne soient artificielles. L'image de Mandelbrot est parfaitement étrangère à la chair et à la vie; on ne peut pas dire qu'elle soit inhumaine, elle est simplement ailleurs.

Je trouve néammoins quelque grâce à l'image de gauche parce que je la lis essentiellement sur un plan graphique. C'est avant tout l'opposition de deux mouvements, renforcée ensuite par la différence de nature, vivante d'un côté, abstraction de l'autre. L'auteur a évidemment soigneusement placé la gymnaste dans sa composition. On notera qu'il n'a pas choisi une image de Mandelbrot trop chargée qui aurait complètement fermé la figure à elle seule.


© Daniel Boiteau 1995

 

L'image à droite illustre un autre essai d'emploi des Mandelbrot. Il s'agit d'un extrait d'une animation 3-D créée en 1989 (La sentinelle, de Bradley W. Schenck) avec une atmosphère médiévale épique. On distingue des fragments de Mandelbrot (spirales et disques noirs) sur les piliers encadrant la porte. Pourquoi pas ? Bien sûr, à cette échelle dans la composition globale, on perd toute la richesse de détails qui permet le fameux vertige fractal. Il ne ne reste qu'un discret symbole pour initiés - ce qui tombait bien dans le cas de cette sombre histoire.

© Bradley W. Schenck 1989

Image Kucoyanis

Voici encore un essai, très différent des précédents. Ici, aucune référence humaine à travers un décor ou un personnage, on en reste à un plan strictement graphique. L'auteur joue sur des contrastes simples mais efficaces :
 - lignes simples (triangle, cercles) contre les lignes compliquées de la fractale,
 - contraste de couleurs vives,
 - formes 3-D contre figures planes,
 - lignes fermées (cercles, triangle) contre les sillages rayonnant depuis la fractale.
Le tout marche très bien, mais on observe là encore que l'auteur a utilisé une figure fractale très simple. L'objet bleu sombre a bien un contour très tourmenté, mais on est loin de la richesse de détails des plus "beaux" Mandelbrot. La question de faire oeuvre artistique à partir des plus belles pièces de la collection reste ouverte.

 

  © Pierre Kucoyanis et Univers Mac #73

 

Page précédente


[ Retour à la page d'accueil ]    [ Sommaire Art et fractales ]

A la découverte du monde des fractales :
Introduction - Exploration Mandelbrot - Exploration Lyapounov - Courbes de Von Koch - Fractales IFS - Dimension fractale - Cousins de Mandelbrot - Les plus belles fractales - Logiciels - Biblio et liens

Fractales et Mythes :
Introduction - Mystique de l'infini - Art non euclidien?

Un nouvel art ?
Introduction - La fascination des fractales - Fractales et photographie - Définitions de l'Art - Le choix des couleurs - Les peintres fractalistes - Autres choix de couleurs - Compositions avec des Mandelbrot - Une jolie fille devant - Art Algorithmique - Au delà de l'art "fractal"