... Sure, one can always put a pretty girl
in front of a beautiful fractal...

A simple sally? I used to think so but... please read the following. I am less affirmative now.

I was browsing through old papers when I stopped short in front of a series of Marylin portraits that were cooked through various recipes by Ilene Astrahan (IEEE Computer Graphics and Applications, Mai 1992, p.9), and specially a picture "Marylin & Julia" showing a solarized face of Marylin above a Julia fractal, i.e. a close relative of Mandelbrot. Of course, a face does not have the erotic dimension of a feminine nude, but the choice of Marylin Monroe is rather significative by itself.

Since Ilene Astrahan was considered an artist in the paper, and since making art is peculiar to artists, the sally suddenly takes on a touch of seriousness. A short investigation on the Web (for instance, ask "Ilene Astrahan" to Altavista) confirms this artist status through a few recent exhibitions in which she took part –though it seems that only the same old pictures are quoted.

In fact, though the paper was devoted to the computer art, the occurrence of other Marylin variants rather made them a kind of exercice, all the more as the artistic possibilities of personal computers were then under investigation. I am afraid that this picture -not reproduced here- would not be very attractive by now, but one must advocate that Ilene was working with a mere Amiga 2000, a rather primitive machine by current standards, and also that the paper was poorly printed.

So it is tempting to resume the exercice with today's tools -only six years later, but six years of incredible technical development.

Marylin126 Let us go! Let us stick a movie face, the same Marylin to begin with, over a beautiful fractal, exactly the same that we quoted several times. Contrary to a naive expectation, this does not make the picture twice more beautiful; even worse, it does not work at all, as long as one keeps Marylin's face with its natural colours. Probably Ilene Astrahan already came to this conclusion since she chose to solarize the face. I am less brutal since I simply applied a blue toning -poor Marylin, with everything permitted since Andy Warhol!

Well, this looks fine enough, does not it?

Maybe not, after all. The face was made artificial so as to better match the background, but is this enough for the success of the image? Are there not too many colours in the background? I tried to remove some of them, but I got nothing more pleasant -to my taste, of course. On the other hand, what kind of relationship can be found between the face and the background that could bring an internal necessity to this juxtaposition? Even blue-painted, Marylin carries a highly fleshly aura with little in common with the abstract ornaments in the background (could this suggest the unfortunate marriage with a too intellectual Arthur Miller? Unlikely...). I feel that the picture specially holds through the power of this face, which is now a symbol for all of us and I am not sure that the background helps the symbol.

Audrey126 But the exercice can be repeated with other faces. Here is Audrey Hepburn. This is a kind of miracle, because there is no need to work on the face, while the fractal is hardly modified (only a light desaturation)... And I think the picture works better. The heavy sensuality has been replaced with a witty smartness closer to the cerebral background. It could be an elegant gold digger over a background evocation of luxury and jewels.

Probably you guessed that I have a soft spot for Audrey Hepburn and that my judgement could become less safe with her, so that this new trial could be less conclusive than expected. We thus have to begin again, but now with a new face, unknown from readers and carrying no peculiar fantasy.

Thus I borrowed the face of a Morgane from a friend, and then I looked for a Mandelbrot picture that could match it. I did not use the same picture again, because, obviously, one cannot shove any face over any background image. This choice is mainly a matter of intuition ; only afterwards can one explain how it works. Here is the result.

morgane Must I say, I am not dissatisfied with this?

The picture can be analyzed in various ways. On a pure graphical ground, there is an obvious contrast between the triangle of the face and the circular shape below it; this contrast is enforced by the life/abstraction opposition. The off-centre location of the face gives it great strength. On the other hand, one can also speak of this dreamy face, without any special expression, in front of the esoteric background. The replica of the circular pattern, blurred and dulled, gives depth to the picture -also to its mystery...

As a conclusion, I feel it unlikely that three interesting trials would be merely three pieces of luck. Undoubtly, there is something to work out deeper behind the sally of the pretty girl. However, let us remember that the trivial erotism behind the sally was ruled out by using faces only in the pictures, and not bodies.

 
Nota :  The faces of Marilyn Monroe and Audrey Hepburn come from a CD-ROM of pictures freely reproducible. Probably the permission does not extend to the above graphical treatments, but I hope that I shall be forgiven, for the sake of Pedagogy.

The original Morgane photography is due to Pierre Le Cabec

 

Preceding Page


[ Return to home page ]    [ Art and Fractals Contents ]

Discovering the fractal world:
Introduction - Mandelbrot Exploration - Lyapounov Exploration - Von Koch Curves - IFS Fractals - Fractal Dimension - Mandelbrot Relatives - Finest Fractal Pictures - Software - Biblio and Links

Fractals and mysticism:
Introduction - The Mysticism of Infinite - Non-Euclidean Art?

A new Art?
Introduction - Fascination of Fractals - Fractals and Photography - Definitions of Art - The Colour Choice - Other Colour Choices - Fractalists Painters - Compositions with Mandelbrot - Put a pretty girl - Algorithmic Art - Beyond the "Fractal" Art

... Bien sûr, on peut toujours mettre une jolie fille
devant une belle fractale...

Simple boutade? Pas sûr du tout, lisez la suite.

En flanant dans mes archives, je suis tombé en arrêt devant une série de portraits de Marylin Monroe à toutes les sauces, par Ilene Astrahan (IEEE Computer Graphics and Applications, Mai 1992, p.9), et notamment une image "Marylin & Julia" montrant un visage solarisé de Marylin devant une fractale de Julia, c'est-à-dire quasiment du Mandelbrot. Bien sûr, un portrait n'a pas la dimension érotique d'un nu féminin, mais le choix de Marylin Monroe est tout de même assez significatif.

Comme Ilene Astrahan était qualifiée d'artiste dans l'article, et que le propre d'un artiste est de faire de l'art, la boutade prend tout à coup une odeur de sérieux. Une petite recherche sur le Web (par exemple, interrogez Altavista sur "Ilene Astrahan") confirme ce statut d'artiste, à travers quelques expositions récentes auxquelles elle a participé - bien qu'il semble aussi que ce soit toujours les mêmes oeuvres anciennes qui soient citées.

En fait, l'article était bien consacré au computer art, mais la présence d'autres variantes conférait plutôt un caractère d'exercice à cette image, d'autant qu'on était alors en pleine exploration des possibilités de l'outil informatique. Cette image, non reproduite ici, paraîtrait maintenant assez mièvre, mais il faut faire la part d'une reproduction médiocre dans la revue et des limitations techniques du moment (l'auteur travaillait sur un simple Amiga 2000). Il est donc tentant de reprendre l'exercice avec les moyens d'aujourd'hui, à peine six ans plus tard, mais pendant lesquels la technique a galopé.

Marylin126 Allons-y! Plaquons un beau visage de cinéma, la même Marylin pour commencer, sur une belle fractale, celle-là même que nous avons citée à plusieurs reprises. Contrairement à un calcul naïf, ça ne fait pas une image deux fois plus belle ; ça ne va même pas du tout si on garde les couleurs d'origine du visage. Ilene Astrahan avait probablement déjà fait ce constat puisqu'elle avait choisi de solariser ce visage. Je suis moins brutal en lui infligeant simplement un virage au bleu - la pauvre en aura vraiment vu de toutes les couleurs depuis Andy Warhol...

Bon, ça a l'air de se tenir, non ?

Peut-être pas, finalement ? Le visage a été artificialisé pour se rapprocher du fond, mais est-ce suffisant pour la réussite du mariage ? N'y a-t-il pas trop de couleurs dans le fond ? (J'ai bien essayé d'en enlever, mais je n'ai rien obtenu qui me plaise davantage...) D'un autre côté, quelle relation peut-on bien trouver entre le visage et le fond qui apporte une nécessité interne à cet assemblage ? Marilyn, même peinte en bleu, véhicule une aura très charnelle qui n'a décidément que fort peu voir avec les abstractions du fond (à moins qu'on ne décide d'y voir un parallèle avec son mariage malheureux avec un Arthur Miller trop intellectuel ?) Je sens que l'image tient surtout par la puissance de ce visage et du symbole que nous en avons fait ; je ne suis pas certain que le fond soutienne ce visage.

Audrey126 Mais on peut recommencer l'exercice avec d'autres visages. Voici Audrey Hepburn. C'est une sorte de miracle, car il n'y a plus aucun besoin de trafiquer le visage, tandis que la fractale est à peine modifiée (juste une légère désaturation)... Et j'ai l'impression que le tout marche mieux. La sensualité lourde a fait place à une coquetterie spirituelle, toute en finesse, qui me paraît s'accorder bien plus aisément avec la cérébralité du fond. Ce peut être une élégante croqueuse de diamants sur un fond qui évoque luxe et bijoux.

On aura deviné que j'ai un faible particulier pour ce visage d'Audrey Hepburn, que mon jugement s'en trouve probablement affecté, et que cette nouvelle expérience n'est peut-être pas si concluante que ça. Il restait donc à recommencer encore une fois, mais avec un visage neuf, qui ne véhicule aucun fantasme auprès du public.

J'ai donc emprunté le visage d'une Morgane à un ami, et j'ai cherché une image de Mandelbrot qui puisse l'accompagner. Je n'ai pas pris la même image, parce qu'on ne peut tout de même pas coller n'importe quelle tête sur n'importe quel fond. Ce choix est largement une affaire d'intuition ; ce n'est qu'après coup qu'on peut rationaliser pourquoi ça marche. Le résultat est montré ci-dessous.

morgane Dois-je avouer que je n'en suis pas mécontent ?

On pourra analyser l'image de diverses manières. Sur le plan graphique, il y a un contraste évident entre le visage en triangle et la structure circulaire, opposition rehaussée par le contraste vie/abstraction. La position très décentrée du visage lui confère une force singulière. Mais on pourra aussi évoquer le mystère de ce visage rêveur, sans expression particulière, face à l'ésotérisme du fond. La réplique floue et assombrie de la structure centrale donne de la profondeur à l'image - et de la profondeur au mystère...

En conclusion, il est peu probable que trois essais intéressants ne soient que trois coups de chance ; il y a certainement quelque chose à creuser derrière cette boutade de la jolie fille. On notera toutefois qu'il n'y a pas de corps dans ces trois images, seulement des visages ; cela fait pratiquement disparaître le sous-entendu érotique, trivial, de la boutade.

 
Nota :  Les portraits de Marylin Monroe et d'Audrey Hepburn proviennent d'un CD-ROM d'images "libres de droit". Cette permission d'emploi ne couvre certainement pas les traitements que je leur ai fait subir, mais j'espère qu'on me pardonnera, au nom de la pédagogie.

L'image originale de Morgane est de Pierre Le Cabec

 

Page précédente


[ Retour à la page d'accueil ]    [ Sommaire Art et fractales ]

A la découverte du monde des fractales :
Introduction - Exploration Mandelbrot - Exploration Lyapounov - Courbes de Von Koch - Fractales IFS - Dimension fractale - Cousins de Mandelbrot - Les plus belles fractales - Logiciels - Biblio et liens

Fractales et Mythes :
Introduction - Mystique de l'infini - Art non euclidien?

Un nouvel art ?
Introduction - La fascination des fractales - Fractales et photographie - Définitions de l'Art - Le choix des couleurs - Les peintres fractalistes - Autres choix de couleurs - Compositions avec des Mandelbrot - Une jolie fille devant - Art Algorithmique - Au delà de l'art "fractal"