The choice of colours Return

Generally, a fractal picture is generated in two steps:

  1. the program computes a number for every pixel of the picture
  2. the user adjusts the mapping of these numbers into colours. Here is the place where talent and artistic feeling are decisive.

The theoretical number of possible choices is breathtaking.

Even this number is so great that it no longer makes real sense. It is roughly 10**2000 (10 to the power 2000) in the case of integers ranging from 1 to 1000 to be mapped over 256 colours. If one could consider a thousand million choices per second and if one had begun at the Earth birth, only 10**25 choices would have been examined so far –nearly nothing compared with the total number.
image
image

However, do not believe that a great artistic genius is required to extract valuable pictures out of this seemingly boundless ocean. There are simple techniques to bring out the possible structures of the pictures; then the colouring is mainly a matter of personal taste and of handiness of the program.  

It must be emphasized that a well-designed application can make things considerably easier. All the pictures in this page have been obtained with my Mandeltour. They correspond to various interpretations of the same basic computation and one may go from one to the other through a few mouse strokes. Moreover, MandelTour proposed automatic colouring routines which maybe did not lead to masterpieces but at least to valuable starting points for the final adjusment of colours. The yellow and green picture on the left has been obtained in this way, with no intervention of the user for arranging the colours.

However it must be added that these automatic routines have been designed for Mandelbrot-like pictures. It is not sure that they could be applied to other kinds of fractals with no change. In fact, Mandeltour proposes a succession of random colour arrangements, following a few chromatic harmony rules, until the user stops it. Therefore the user does not settle the colouring himself, but he chooses the picture which seems the most enjoyable to him.

The two pictures below show what may happen when the colouring is messed up (with Mandeltour, one had to make it on purpose!). On the left, the center area is filled with a shapeless pulp. On the right, the image is more readable but lacks strength.
image image

It must be emphasized that there is no unique solution for the colouring. Below are four of them, very different, but as valuable in my view as the top image in this page. To tell the truth, I do not like very much the acid colours of the top left picture, but I accept that some could be fond of them.
image image
image image

Finally, the choice of colours for Mandelbrot pictures can be very easy when one is using a program with well-designed colouring functions. I shall refrain from too rapidly generalizing this conclusion to any kind of fractals. Some of them look quite more complex, and their colouring could be intrinsically more difficult (I am not sure of this, for lack of experience, but I suspect it). On the other hand, the programs like Fractint are not renowned for their ease of colouring. This does not prevent from getting very fine results with them but overcoming this practical difficulty should not be considered a bonus in the artistic value of the picture.

 
Preceding Page Other colour choices


[ Return to home page ]    [ Art and Fractals Contents ]

Discovering the fractal world:
Introduction - Mandelbrot Exploration - Lyapounov Exploration - Von Koch Curves - IFS Fractals - Fractal Dimension - Mandelbrot Relatives - Finest Fractal Pictures - Software - Biblio and Links

Fractals and mysticism:
Introduction - The Mysticism of Infinite - Non-Euclidean Art?

A new Art?
Introduction - Fascination of Fractals - Fractals and Photography - Definitions of Art - The Colour Choice - Other Colour Choices - Fractalists Painters - Compositions with Mandelbrot - Put a pretty girl - Algorithmic Art - Beyond the "Fractal" Art

Le choix des couleurs Retour

Il y a deux étapes dans l'obtention d'une image fractale :

  1. le logiciel calcule un nombre à chacun des pixels de l'image, sans intervention de l'utilisateur (sinon, éventuellement, pour s'assurer que la précision du calcul sera suffisante);
  2. l'utilisateur fixe ensuite les règles de passage entre ces nombres et les couleurs. C'est là qu'intervient l'habileté, ou le sens artistique, de l'utilisateur.

Le nombre théorique des choix possibles de colorations est vertigineux.

Ce nombre est même tellement grand qu'il en perd tout sens réel. Rien qu'en 256 couleurs, pour des entiers calculés allant de 1 à 1000, il serait environ 10**2000 (10 à la puissance 2000). Si on pouvait examiner un milliard de choix par seconde et si on avait commencé depuis la création de la Terre, il y a quelques milliards d'années, on n'aurait examiné que quelques 10**25 combinaisons, pratiquement rien devant le nombre total.
image
image

Il ne faut pas croire pour autant que ce soit faire preuve d'un grand génie artistique que d'extraire des images intéressantes de cet océan apparemment sans limites. Il existe quelques techniques simples pour faire ressortir les structures possibles de l'image ; le coloriage est ensuite affaire de goût personnel et de facilités offertes par le programme.  

Il faut insister qu'un programme bien étudié peut considérablement faciliter les choses. Toutes les images de cette page ont été obtenues avec MandelTour. Elles correspondent à diverses interprétations en couleur d'un même calcul et il suffit de quelques coups de souris pour passer de l'une à l'autre. MandelTour contenait même des routines de coloriage automatique pouvant conduire, peut-être pas à des chefs d'oeuvre, mais à des points de départ exploitables pour une mise au point ultérieure des couleurs. L'image jaune et verte ci-contre a été obtenue ainsi, sans aucune intervention humaine dans le choix des couleurs.

Il faut toutefois préciser que ces routines automatiques ont été conçues pour les images Mandelbrot. Il n'est pas sûr qu'on puisse les appliquer à d'autres types d'images fractales sans de profondes modifications. Enfin, dans la réalité, le programme fait varier les couleurs au hasard, en respectant quelques règles d'accord chromatique, jusqu'à ce que l'utilisateur l'arrête: celui-ci ne choisit donc pas les couleurs, mais il choisit l'image qui lui plaît le plus.

Les deux images suivantes montrent ce qui peut se passer si on rate la mise en couleurs (il fallait vraiment le faire exprès avec MandelTour, mais enfin...). A gauche, la structure centrale a été complètement remplacée par un magma informe. L'image de droite est beaucoup plus lisible mais manque de vigueur.
image image

Il faut souligner qu'il n'y a pas de solution définitive pour le coloriage. En voici quatre, très différentes, qui me semblent toutes aussi valables que la toute première image de cette page, dans des registres très différents. Pour ma part, je n'aime pas trop les couleurs acides de l'image en haut à gauche, mais j'admets qu'on puisse parfois les rechercher.
image image
image image

En définitive, la recherche des couleurs dans les images de Mandelbrot peut être très facile si on dispose d'un logiciel avec des fonctions suffisamment bien adaptées. La prudence me conseille de ne pas généraliser trop vite cette conclusion. Il y a des fractales qui ont l'air nettement plus complexes et dont la mise en couleur est peut-être plus délicate en soi (je ne sais pas, faute d'avoir essayé). Par ailleurs, les programmes comme Fractint ne sont pas réputés pour la simplicité de leurs fonctions de coloriage, mais le fait d'avoir surmonté cette difficulté pratique ne devrait pas être considéré comme un plus dans l'évaluation artistique de l'image.

 


Retour à la page précédente Autres choix de couleurs

[ Retour à la page d'accueil ]    [ Sommaire Art et fractales ]

A la découverte du monde des fractales :
Introduction - Exploration Mandelbrot - Exploration Lyapounov - Courbes de Von Koch - Fractales IFS - Dimension fractale - Cousins de Mandelbrot - Les plus belles fractales - Logiciels - Biblio et liens

Fractales et Mythes :
Introduction - Mystique de l'infini - Art non euclidien?

Un nouvel art ?
Introduction - La fascination des fractales - Fractales et photographie - Définitions de l'Art - Le choix des couleurs - Autres choix de couleurs - Les peintres fractalistes - Compositions avec des Mandelbrot - Une jolie fille devant - Art Algorithmique - Au delà de l'art "fractal"