Notion of Fractal Dimension

Preceding Page

You may wonder what help the notion of fractal dimension can be to disentangle the relationship between fractal pictures and Art. Indeed this page was included only to explain a few points in the comments about fractalist paintings, and "non-Euclidean" pictures.

In his book Les objets fractals Benoît Mandelbrot proposes several definitions for this quantity, which lead to the same result ("generally", he says). The simplest argument for the layman consists in starting from a seemingly simple problem, namely, what is the length of a fractal line? For instance, in concrete terms, what is the length of a rocky coast?

The surprising result is that this length depends on the rule with which it was measured: the smaller the rule, the larger the length. loupe In fact, we must first analyse the measuring process. If we consider the smooth curves of the classical geometry (top-left), under a magnifying glass, the more enlarged the curve is, the more flattened it looks and the more easily it can be followed with a correspondingly small rule. On the opposite, if we consider a fractal curve (bottom left), the enlargement does not smooth down the irregularities and the rule is always poorly matched to the curve, however large the magnification and however small the rule. We are obliged to accept this point. We go on by stating that we thus build a polygonal approximation of the curve (in blue on the left) and we content ourselves with measuring the length of this polygonal line.

Don't think that this polygonal approximation is a disaster. Imagine that the small picture above is continued over one meter and step back 10-20 m away, then look at it again : very likely, you will confuse the blue polygonal line and the black fractal curve, because its details will be blurred by the distance). In the same way, when a fractal line is "drawn" on the screen or by a printer, what is really drawn is rather a polygonal approximation where the elementary side corresponds to adjacent pixels.

Once the first polygonal approximation is obtained and its length is measured, the rule is halved and the whole process is done again, indefinitely. One thus gets a sequence of "lengths". In the case of classical curves, the result stabilizes fastly around a finite value, which is called the "length" of the curve. On the opposite, in the case of fractal curves, this polygonal length grows up to infinity, more precisely as L / L**D (L to the power D in the denominator – I am sorry, but it is no possible to always hide the mathematics!), where L is the side of the polygone and where D is a number characteristic of the analyzed fractal, lying between 1 and 2 for non self-crossing fractals. For those severely allergic to formulas, let us say that D characterizes the speed of the growing towards infinity; the larger D, the faster the growing.

This parameter can be easily derived for Von Koch curves, which are just defined from a sequence of such polygonal approximations. In the case sketched below, mathematicians find
D = log 2 / log (2 cos a / 2), which leads to the values displayed on the right.

courbes Von Koch
From left to right, the figure successively shows the elementary indentation scheme, the plot after 3 or 4 iterations and the "final" plot, together with the D value. The interesting point is as follows: one gets values close to 1 for nearly smooth fractals (top line), and one goes closer and closer to 2 as the fractal is more indented and fills more densely the surface over which it is plotted. In the limiting case a = 90°, the curve fills the triangle completely and one gets D = 2. The same value is also obtained for the Peano curve, which fills a square completely.

Within classical geometry, a curve is regarded as a one-dimensional space just because one can measure distances along it, so that any point on the curve can be defined with a single number, its abscissa, i.e. the distance from an arbitrary point taken as origin. In the same way, classical surfaces are two-dimensional spaces because any of their points can be defined with 2 coordinates. This integer number 1 or 2 is the Euclidean dimension of the curve or the surface. It is impossible to localize points in a fractal since it is impossible to measure lengths along it. A fractal curve drawn in a plane belongs to this plane, of dimension 2, but it cannot be attributed any Euclidean dimension at all, and specially not the dimension 1. However one has the number D, a real number close to 1 when the fractal is nearly smooth, which increases when the fractal becomes more indented, and which reaches the value 2 when the fractal fills a surface in the plane, i.e. when the fractal "curve" looks like a filled surface. To some extent, fractal curves allow us to carry out a kind of transition between the classical curves, of dimension 1, and the surfaces, of dimension 2, while the number D just goes from 1 to 2. Because of this analogy, this number is called the fractal dimension of the fractal curve.

The curious reader will find quite more involved pages in the book of Benoît Mandelbrot, specially about the different ways to define the fractal dimensions. If he looks for an easier reading, though more accurate than this page, with some mathematics but not too much, he can link to the website of Glenn Elert.

 

Preceding Page


[ Return to home page ]    [ Art and Fractals Contents ]

Discovering the fractal world:
Introduction - Mandelbrot Exploration - Lyapounov Exploration - Von Koch Curves - IFS Fractals - Fractal Dimension - Mandelbrot Relatives - Finest Fractal Pictures - Software - Biblio and Links

Fractals and mysticism:
Introduction - The Mysticism of Infinite - Non-Euclidean Art?

A new Art?
Introduction - Fascination of Fractals - Fractals and Photography - Definitions of Art - The Colour Choice - Other Colour Choices - Fractalists Painters - Compositions with Mandelbrot - Put a pretty girl - Algorithmic Art - Beyond the "Fractal" Art

Notion de dimension fractale

Page précédente

On peut se demander en quoi la notion de dimension fractale d'une courbe ou d'une surface fractale peut nous aider à démêler les relations entre les images fractales et l'art. En fait je n'ai inclus cette page que pour essayer d'expliquer certains points des commentaires sur les peintures fractalistes, à propos des images "non euclidiennes".

Benoît Mandelbrot dans son livre Les objets fractals propose plusieurs définitions de cette notion de dimension fractale, qui ("en général", dit-il) aboutissent au même résultat. Le raisonnement le plus simple pour un non-mathématicien consiste à partir d'un problème apparemment simple: quelle est la longueur d'une ligne fractale ? Par exemple, très concrètement, quelle est la longueur des côtes de Bretagne ?

Le résultat surprenant est que ça dépend avec quelle règle on fait la mesure: plus elle est petite, plus la longueur trouvée est grande. loupe En fait, il faut d'abord réfléchir à la façon dont on opère. Dans le cas des courbes de la géométrie classique (en haut ci-contre), quand on observe à la loupe, plus on agrandit, plus la courbe a l'air de s'aplatir localement et mieux on peut la suivre en lui appliquant une petite règle. Par contre, dans le cas d'une courbe fractale (en bas ci-contre), la courbe agrandie est toujours aussi échancrée et la règle s'applique toujours mal, quel que soit l'agrandissement, et quelle que soit la taille de la règle. On est bien forcé d'accepter ce fait. On continue en disant qu'on a construit ainsi une approximation polygonale de la courbe (en bleu ci-contre), et on se contente de mesurer la longueur de ce contour polygonal.

Ne pensez pas que cette "approximation" polygonale soit catastrophique. Imaginez que la petite figure ci-contre soit prolongée sur un mètre et reculez de dix à vingt mètres: il y a fort à parier que vous ne saurez pas distinguer la fractale en noir (dont les détails seront estompés par la distance) du contour polygonal en bleu. De même, quand on "trace" une fractale à l'écran ou à l'imprimante, ce qu'on trace en réalité est plutôt une approximation polygonale dont le côté correspond à la distance entre deux pixels.

Une fois construite une première approximation polygonale et que sa longueur est notée, on divise la règle par 2 et on recommence. Dans le cas des courbes classiques, le résultat se stabilise très vite, et on obtient ainsi la "longueur" de la courbe. Par contre, dans le cas des courbes fractales, cette longueur polygonale augmente vers l'infini, plus précisément comme L / L**D (L à la puissance D en dénominateur - que les non-mathématiciens me pardonnent, mais on ne peut pas éviter indéfiniment toute mathématique !), où L est le côté du polygone et D un nombre caractéristique de la courbe fractale, compris entre 1 et 2 pour les fractales sans point double (c.à.d. qui ne se recoupent pas). Pour ceux qui sont vraiment allergiques aux formules, disons que D caractérise la croissance vers l'infini de la longueur mesurée ; plus D est grand, plus la croissance est rapide.

On peut facilement évaluer D pour les courbes de Von Koch, où chaque étape d'itération fournit à chaque fois une approximation polygonale convenable. Dans le cas illustré ci-dessous, les mathématiciens trouvent D = log 2 / log (2 cos a / 2), ce qui conduit aux valeurs indiquées sur la droite.

courbes Von Koch
La figure montre successivement le schéma d'indentation de chaque segment, un tracé au bout de 3 ou 4 étapes, et le tracé "final" de la fractale. Le point intéressant est le suivant: on obtient des valeurs proches de 1 pour les fractales peu accidentées (1ère ligne ci-dessus), alors qu'on se rapproche de plus en plus de 2 au fur et à mesure que la courbe se complexifie et occupe davantage la surface sur laquelle elle est tracée. Dans le cas limite a = 90, où la courbe remplit tout le triangle, on obtient D = 2. On obtient aussi D = 2 pour la courbe de Péano, qui remplit tout un carré.

En géométrie ordinaire, on dit qu'une courbe est un espace à 1 dimension précisément parce qu'on sait mesurer les longueurs le long de la courbe et qu'on peut repérer tout point de la courbe par un seul nombre, son abscisse, c.à.d. sa distance depuis le point pris comme origine. De même, toujours en géométrie ordinaire, on dit que les surfaces sont des espaces à 2 dimension parce qu'il suffit de 2 coordonnées pour en repérer les points. Ces nombres entiers 1 ou 2 sont appelés dimensions euclidiennes. Il est impossible de désigner ainsi un point d'une fractale, puisqu'on ne peut pas mesurer de longueur le long de la fractale. Une ligne fractale dessinée dans un plan appartient bien à ce plan, de dimension 2, mais on ne peut pas dire qu'elle soit de dimension 1. Par contre, on dispose du nombre D, nombre réel, qui est proche de 1 quand la fractale est "plutôt" lisse, qui augmente quand la fractale devient plus accidentée, et qui tend vers 2 quand la fractale remplit la portion de plan qui lui sert de support, c.à.d. quand la fractale ressemble à une surface. En quelque sorte, ces fractales réalisent une sorte d'évolution entre les courbes lisses et les surfaces de la géométrie classique, alors que le nombre D évolue de 1, dimension euclidienne d'une courbe lisse, à 2, dimension euclidienne d'un morceau de plan. Pour cette raison, ce nombre D est appelée dimension fractale de la courbe fractale.

On trouvera des considérations beaucoup plus savantes dans l'ouvrage de Benoît Mandelbrot, notamment avec diverses façons de définir la dimension fractale. Si on veut à la fois une lecture plus facile et un exposé plus précis que le mien (avec un peu plus de mathématiques, mais sans excès), on pourra aller sur le site de Glenn Elert.

 

Page précédente


[ Retour à la page d'accueil ]    [ Sommaire Art et fractales ]

A la découverte du monde des fractales :
Introduction - Exploration Mandelbrot - Exploration Lyapounov - Courbes de Von Koch - Fractales IFS - Dimension fractale - Cousins de Mandelbrot - Les plus belles fractales - Logiciels - Biblio et liens

Fractales et Mythes :
Introduction - Mystique de l'infini - Art non euclidien?

Un nouvel art ?
Introduction - La fascination des fractales - Fractales et photographie - Définitions de l'Art - Le choix des couleurs - Autres choix de couleurs - Les peintres fractalistes - Compositions avec des Mandelbrot - Une jolie fille devant - Art Algorithmique - Au delà de l'art "fractal"