Why are fractal pictures so fascinating and popular?

Fractal pictures now ask for a place in the Art of our time, at a time when Modern Art is rejected, or at least ignored, by most of the public which did not receive the required training –indoctrination?– for appreciating this Art. Now, the same layman who often dislikes modernist artworks is spontaneously fond of fractal pictures with no need to be taught a non-Euclidean vision or the mysteries of self-similarity. One must look for far simpler explanations. This is beautiful, all right. But what else? Why?

I do not feel qualified so far to define or to characterize what is beautiful, pretty, handsome. It is often objected that the criteria must change with human cultures, that what is beautiful here could be less highly rated there. This is true for music, since for a long time Eastern musics could not make their way into Western countries. But music is a highly codified field. The perception of graphics is quite more spontaneous. As far as I know, the old drawings from Persia, China or Japan have been always appreciated in the West.

One can try to search empirically what looks so attractive in fractal pictures. I believe that colors are not the most important. Of course, especially for Mandelbrot pictures, shimmering vivid colors are often used, within a range in which hues are moving continuously, with no clashing contrast. However, suppressing these colors makes the bare drawing quite as attractive. Click here to see (again) one of my Mandelbrot pictures, colored, then click there to see it again in black and white. Speaks volumes, doesn't it? The picture structure is the same. Curves remain both smooth and unpredictable (isn't that a criterion for smartness?), with the same rich details, those which can be seen and those which can be guessed. The picture remains fascinating because of these details, always the same and always renewed, among which the watcher lingers. Colors are a bonus.

chou-fleur Daniel Boiteau, a picture of whom will be shown later, proposed an interesting remark. A firm and round cauliflower has a clear fractal structure, with an indisputable self-similarity. Now, to our knowledge, nobody ever sank into unfathomable thoughts in front of this modest vegetable. A cauliflower is simply too common and one hardly sees nobleness in its shapes. This means that self-similarity alone is not enough to trigger the "fractal vertigo" and that the beauty of lines is essential to the fascination. After all, if we admit with Barnsley that "Fractals (are) Everywhere", since obviously beauty is not everywhere, there must be many fractals with no interest.

 

Preceding Page


[ Return to home page ]    [ Art and Fractals Contents ]

Discovering the fractal world:
Introduction - Mandelbrot Exploration - Lyapounov Exploration - Von Koch Curves - IFS Fractals - Fractal Dimension - Mandelbrot Relatives - Finest Fractal Pictures - Software - Biblio and Links

Fractals and mysticism:
Introduction - The Mysticism of Infinite - Non-Euclidean Art?

A new Art?
Introduction - Fascination of Fractals - Fractals and Photography - Definitions of Art - The Colour Choice - Other Colour Choices - Fractalists Painters - Compositions with Mandelbrot - Put a pretty girl - Algorithmic Art - Beyond the "Fractal" Art

Qu'y a-t-il de si fascinant dans les images fractales ?

D'où vient l'indéniable succès populaire des images fractales?

Historiquement parlant, les images fractales demandent une place dans l'art contemporain, à un moment où cet art est rejeté - ignoré, tout au moins - par une majorité du public qui n'a pas reçu l'éducation nécessaire, l'endoctrinement, diront certains, pour apprécier cet art. Or, le spectateur ordinaire, qui rejette volontiers les oeuvres contemporaines, apprécie spontanément les images fractales, sans qu'on ait à lui parler d'art non-euclidien ou de la mystique de l'autosimilarité. Il faut donc chercher des explications plus terre à terre. C'est beau, soit. Mais encore? Mais pourquoi?

Définir, caractériser ce qui est beau, joli, élégant, est au-dessus de mes capacités. On objecte parfois que ça doit varier avec les cultures, que le "beau" d'ici ne reste pas forcément "beau" là-bas. C'est vrai en musique: les musiques orientales ont eu du mal à pénétrer en Occident. Mais il s'agit d'un domaine très codifié. Le domaine graphique est beaucoup plus spontané. Que je sache, les dessins persans, chinois ou japonais ont toujours été appréciés en Occident.

Sur un plan empirique, on peut essayer de décrire ce qui paraît attachant dans les images fractales. Je crois que les couleurs sont assez secondaires. Bien sûr, surtout dans les Mandelbrot, on utilise volontiers des couleurs vives et chatoyantes, avec une gamme assez large dans laquelle on se déplace continûment, sans contraste discordant. Toutefois la suppression de ces couleurs laisserait un dessin nu tout aussi attachant. Cliquez ici pour revoir l'une de mes images Mandelbrot, en couleurs, puis cliquez là pour revoir la même image en noir et blanc. Eloquent, non? La structure de l'image reste en place. Les courbes ont gardé ce dessin à la fois régulier et imprévisible (n'est-ce pas un critère d'élégance?) et leur richesse de texture, avec ces détails qu'on voit et ceux qu'on devine. L'image reste fascinante à cause de cette richesse de détails, toujours les mêmes bien sûr, mais toujours renouvelés, dans lesquels on s'attarde. La couleur est en prime.

chou-fleur Daniel Boiteau, dont on verra une image plus loin, m'a soumis une remarque intéressante. Un chou-fleur bien pommé présente une indéniable structure fractale, avec une auto-similarité très nette. Pourtant, à notre connaissance, on s'est très rarement abîmé en méditations insondables à la vue de ce modeste légume. Tout simplement, un chou-fleur est trop commun et on ne prête guère de noblesse à ses formes. C'est dire que l'auto-similarité n'est pas suffisante en soi pour déclencher le "vertige fractal" et que l'attrait des lignes est primordial à la fascination. Après tout, si on admet avec Barnsley que tout est fractal (Fractals Everywhere), comme on ne peut pas trouver de la beauté partout, il y aura beaucoup de fractales sans intérêt.

 

Page précédente


[ Retour à la page d'accueil ]    [ Sommaire Art et fractales ]

A la découverte du monde des fractales :
Introduction - Exploration Mandelbrot - Exploration Lyapounov - Courbes de Von Koch - Fractales IFS - Dimension fractale - Cousins de Mandelbrot - Les plus belles fractales - Logiciels - Biblio et liens

Fractales et Mythes :
Introduction - Mystique de l'infini - Art non euclidien?

Un nouvel art ?
Introduction - La fascination des fractales - Fractales et photographie - Définitions de l'Art - Le choix des couleurs - Autres choix de couleurs - Les peintres fractalistes - Compositions avec des Mandelbrot - Une jolie fille devant - Art Algorithmique - Au delà de l'art "fractal"