IFS Fractals

Preceding Page
fougère

Since IFS fractals have only a little part in the discussion about the relationship between Fractals and Art, this page may be considered a parenthesis, a kind of footnote that the hurried reader may skip, but it also (hopefully) contains informations of interest for anyone curious of the variety of the fractal world. There will be no mathematics other than intuitive notions of geometry.

An IFS fractal, in the sense of Barnsley, is defined by a set of elementary geometric transformations which are called "linear" or "affine" by mathematicians. In the everyday language, they are a combination of

  • translations
  • rotations
  • linear compressions along the vertical or horizontal axis, or both. The compression ratios along the two axes can be different.
  • vertical or horizontal shears, such that a rectangle is transformed into a parallelogram through the sliding of a side along itself.
The only requirement is that the transformations must be contractive, i.e. the distance between two points must decrease (at least, not increase) in the transformation.

The transformations to be implemented in the IFS set depend upon the figure to be redrawn. There is a magical precept that must be satisfied: if the target figure is transformed through the various transformations in the set, one must get exact parts of this figure, and superimposing all these parts must reconstruct the whole figure. The preceding fern thus asks for 4 transformations, as illustrated below.

IFS
The result of each transformation is shown in blue. The last transformation is a complete compression of the fern along the piece of stem which was not covered by the three first transformations. Clearly, this splitting of the fern is based upon its strong self-similarity, which makes every leaf an exact reduction of the whole fern.

There is something magical in redrawing the figure. First there is an initialisation stage, where an arbitrary point (for instance the center of the screen) is moved through the various transformations in the set, in a large random sequence (say 1000 transformations or more), with nothing written on the screen. Then the random sequence is continued, but now with writing every transformed point. And the miracle happens, the fern appears, pixel by pixel!

One can understand a bit what happens by noticing that each of the transformations has invariant points (i.e. points which do not move in the transformation) and that these points necessarily belong to the figure. Indeed, in the random sequence, the same contractive transformation may occur several times in succession, and, since it is contractive, one goes closer and closer to these invariant points. Therefore, sooner or later, the moving point enters the figure and this is the aim of the initialisation stage. Then, according to the chosen transformation, the point wanders here and there in the figure, more or less uniformly depending on the probabilities given to the various transformations in the random sequence.

 

fern2

 

  Several IFS initiation programs have been proposed after 1988, including mine for the Amiga, after M.F. Barnsley et A.D. Sloan had published their popular paper "A Better Way to Compress Images" in Byte, (January 1988). I was rapidly convinced that these tools were marvelous for making ferns, even rather strange species –as shown on the left,– but of little interest for anything else, specially anything artistic, at least with what was available in the public domain. And that IFS "trees" were rather unrealistic...

And what about colour? In these elementary programs, the only recipe was to change the color every time that a pixel was written again along the random sequence (Barnsley himself suggests nothing else in his book Fractals Everywhere). The preceding picture was obtained in this way. To go a bit further, one could just superimpose several quasi-monochrome pictures, as shown below.

fern1

fern3

 

 

However, when I look at this last picture, obtained in 1989 by mixing the details of two "ferns", I still feel some regret for not having explored further the textures which can be obtained in this way. But the tool was really lacking flexibility and the machines of the time, even the Amiga, were still too primitive.

Preceding Page


[ Return to home page ]    [ Art and Fractals Contents ]

Discovering the fractal world:
Introduction - Mandelbrot Exploration - Lyapounov Exploration - Von Koch Curves - IFS Fractals - Fractal Dimension - Mandelbrot Relatives - Finest Fractal Pictures - Software - Biblio and Links

Fractals and mysticism:
Introduction - The Mysticism of Infinite - Non-Euclidean Art?

A new Art?
Introduction - Fascination of Fractals - Fractals and Photography - Definitions of Art - The Colour Choice - Other Colour Choices - Fractalists Painters - Compositions with Mandelbrot - Put a pretty girl - Algorithmic Art - Beyond the "Fractal" Art

Fractales IFS

Page précédente
fougère

Comme les fractales IFS ne jouent qu'un rôle minime dans le discours de ces pages sur les fractales et l'art, cette page est une sorte de parenthèse, de note de bas de page, qu'on pourra sauter si on est pressé, mais aussi qu'on pourra lire avec profit (j'espère) si on est un peu curieux de la diversité de ce monde fractal. Dans la mesure du possible, j'éviterai toute mathématique autre que des notions intuitives de géométrie.

Une fractale IFS est définie par un ensemble de transformations géométriques élémentaires que les mathématiciens appellent transformations "linéaires" ou "affines", mais qui, dans le langage de tous les jours, se réduisent à des combinaisons de

  • rotations
  • aplatissements selon l'axe horizontal ou vertical. On peut avoir le même rapport d'aplatissement sur les deux axes, auquel cas on parle d'homothétie, mais ce n'est pas forcé.
  • cisaillements verticaux ou horizontaux, transformant un rectangle en parallélogramme par glissement d'un côté sur lui-même.
On exige seulement que la transformation soit une contraction, c'est-à-dire que la distance entre deux points diminue (du moins, n'augmente pas) au cours de la transformation.

Les transformations à mettre en oeuvre dépendent de la figure qu'on veut reconstituer. On ne pourra pas faire n'importe quoi. Il y a un précepte magique à observer: si on fait agir chacune des transformations sur la figure globale, on doit obtenir à chaque fois des morceaux de cette figure, et la réunion de ces morceaux doit reconstituer la figure globale. La fougère précédente demande ainsi 4 transformations, comme figuré ci-dessous.

IFS
A chaque fois, le résultat de la transformation est indiqué en bleu. La dernière transformation est un aplatissement total de la fougère sur le bout de tige qui était resté en dehors des trois premières opérations. On voit qu'on s'appuie fortement sur le caractère autosimilaire de la figure, qui fait qu'une feuille est une réduction de la fougère entière.

La reconstitution de l'image est une opération magique. Il y a d'abord une phase d'initialisation, où on part d'un point arbitraire (le centre de l'écran par exemple) sur lequel on fait agir les diverses opérations du système IFS, tirées au hasard, un grand nombre de fois (1000 ou plus), sans rien écrire à l'écran. Puis on continue, cette fois en inscrivant le point à chaque fois. Et le miracle opère, on voit peu à peu se dessiner la fougère !

On peut comprendre un peu ce qui se passe en observant que chacune des transformations a des points invariants (qui ne bougent pas quand on leur applique la transformation) et que ces points font forcément partie de la figure. En effet, comme les transformations sont tirées au hasard, on peut avoir la même plusieurs fois de suite, et comme ce sont des contractions, on va forcément vers ce ou ces points fixes. Tôt ou tard, on entre donc dans la figure et c'est le but de la phase d'initialisation. Ensuite, au gré de la succession des transformations, le point va errer un peu partout dans la figure. Il conviendra d'ajuster les probabilités de tirage de chacune des opérations pour ne pas favoriser telle ou telle partie de la figure.

 

fern2 Plusieurs programmes d'initiation aux fractales IFS ont été écrits à partir de 1988, date de parution d'un article de vulgarisation de M.F. Barnsley et A.D. Sloan ("A Better Way to Compress Images", Byte, Janvier 1988), dont le mien pour l'Amiga. J'ai rapidement eu la conviction que c'était un très bon outil pour faire des fougères, y compris des variétés pathologiques comme le spécimen ci-contre, mais que l'outil manquait fortement de souplesse pour une utilisation artistique, du moins avec les programmes accessibles. Et que les "arbres" IFS manquaient singulièrement de réalisme.

Et la couleur dans tout ça ? Dans ces programmes élémentaires, la seule recette accessible était de faire varier la couleur chaque fois qu'on réécrivait un point déjà inscrit (Barnsley lui-même ne propose rien d'autre dans son livre Fractals Everywhere). L'image précédente a été obtenue avec cette recette. Pour aller au-delà, il n'y avait plus qu'à superposer des images élémentaires quasi-monochromes, comme le bouquet de fougères ci-dessous.

fern1
Une dernière image, obtenue en 1989 par superposition de détails de deux "fougères", éveille encore le regret de ne pas m'être intéressé davantage aux textures qu'on pouvait ainsi obtenir. Mais l'outil manquait par trop de souplesse et les machines de l'époque, même l'Amiga, étaient encore bien primitives.
fern3

Page précédente


[ Retour à la page d'accueil ]    [ Sommaire Art et fractales ]

A la découverte du monde des fractales :
Introduction - Exploration Mandelbrot - Exploration Lyapounov - Courbes de Von Koch - Fractales IFS - Dimension fractale - Cousins de Mandelbrot - Les plus belles fractales - Logiciels - Biblio et liens

Fractales et Mythes :
Introduction - Mystique de l'infini - Art non euclidien?

Un nouvel art ?
Introduction - La fascination des fractales - Fractales et photographie - Définitions de l'Art - Le choix des couleurs - Autres choix de couleurs - Les peintres fractalistes - Compositions avec des Mandelbrot - Une jolie fille devant - Art Algorithmique - Au delà de l'art "fractal"