image-titre

First steps

For the layman, the adventure of fractal pictures begins with the Mandelbrot Set. Splendid pictures of it were revealed as soon as computers were available with graphic outputs worthy of the name. A first exhibition in 1984 was a great success and it was continued into a book with an explicit title, The Beauty of Fractals, by H.O. Peitgen and P.H. Richter (Springer-Verlag, Berlin, 1986). A few years later (86-90), the improvement of personal computers popularized the access to these pictures.

Very hard mathematics are hidden behind the Mandelbrot Set, but you can completely ignore them if you are interested only in the beauty of pictures. Many user-friendly programs now exist that allow you to get pictures comparable to the one above. If you never run any of them, click here for a first guided tour in the Mandelbrot Set. Don't worry, there will be no mathematics at all! By the way, you will also get a first contact with a basic property of the fractal pictures, the self-similarity, which we shall meet again many times in the following.

A similar walk can be done across the Markus-Lyapunov pictures if you have the relevant explorer software for this kind of fractals.

mandelbrot In fact, it seems that these bursts of colours, so fascinating for the layman, were a pleasant surprise for the pioneering mathematicians in the 1970-80s. In their mind, the Mandelbrot Set was mainly the figure on the right and they were specially analyzing the complicated structure of its outline. Benoît Mandelbrot himself recounts this adventure in his book "Les objets fractals" (Flammarion, Paris, 3rd edition, 1989). The Set then was a kind of "simplifying" key to understand and to classify the behaviour of other fractal objects. According to the Mandebrot's book, the main problem by this time was to define tools meant to simulate natural shapes such as mountain landscapes or rocky seashores. The pratical purpose was to get complex shapes with as few parameters as possible; look at the explanations in the page on the Von Koch curves. This page also gives another example of fractal, together with the simplest illustration of the concept of self-similarity. We shall use the Von Koch curves again in the following, to explain the notion of fractal "dimension".

The IFS fractals ("Iterated Function Systems") also play a great part in the saga of fractals. They have been developed by Michael Barnsley in a book with a provocative title, Fractals Everywhere (Academic Press, New York, 1988), also with a lot of pretty illustrations –but make no mistake, the book is plain mathematics! In fact, Barnsley was specially successful in his program of "fractals everywhere" since he succeeded in demonstrating that any picture can be represented with a "small" number of these IFS fractals and he succeeded in embodying this theoretical result into the practical compression scheme commercially known as fractal compression. Beyond this practical application, these results have a clear philosophical importance –fractals are everywhere,– but they are of little interest in the artistic domain since no drawing software was ever written allowing to make arbitrary pictures through IFS fractals.

But what is a fractal?

Maybe the reader could feel entitled now to expect a clear, comprehensive, definition of a fractal. I shall refrain from giving any attempt. After all, one can read fougère the whole book of Mandelbrot without coming across this definition!

So do not expect any accurate statement. After the preceding examples of curves, duly stamped "fractals" by the real scientists, we shall remain with the somewhat vague idea of very irregular curves (or surfaces), with a more or less obvious self-similarity, which means that special patterns can be seen in the object in several places and at every scale from the macroscopic to the infinitesimal. The frond of fern on the right is an obvious example since the whole fern can be seen in reduction in all its branches, in all the leaflets along these branches, and so on. In the above picture of the Mandelbrot Set, disks can be seen everywhere along the outline, carrying smaller disks, which themselves carry even smaller disks, etc... but it is also known that tiny replicas of the whole Set exist, that can be seen when the figure is strongly enough enlarged. This self-similarity was also clearly visible in the Von Koch curves. Of course, when random parameters are introduced in the fractal construction, the strict self-similarity is replaced with a simple resemblance.

Also, it seems that a fractal object must be characterized with a fractal dimension to be worthy of the name, but we shall not need this notion in the following –except once, when we shall discuss about the label of "non-Euclidean" art.

Fractals for the Artist

For the "artist" –we shall discuss the label later on– there are two domains where fractals are of interest.

  • Various fractal tools exist, most often in commercial packages, that can simulate natural landscapes or provide various textures to be mapped on surfaces in 3-D software. Generally, the artist will emphasize the natural or realistic look of his pictures and not its fractal features, and he will not claim the "Fractal Art" label for them –barring exceptional cases which will be considered later on.

  • On the opposite the supporters of this Fractal Art produce non figurative images, most often highly coloured, through software with a marked flavor of applied mathematics. Typically, a number is computed for every pixel in the figure, through some algorithm more or less complicated, then this number is translated into a colour. User-friendly software exists for the most classical algorithms, such as those for the Mandebrot Set and its close relatives, that spares the user most of the mathematical details and claims a few mouse strokes only to compute the pictures –maybe also a bit of patience while computations are carried out. But there also exists more complex programs with which the user may input a mathematical function of his own, thus adding a new dimension to the artistic value of the work. It must be noticed that most of the available software is shareware or public domain. However, there also exists a few creators who write their own software completely.

There is a boundless variety of fractal pictures.

The layman specially knows the pictures from the Mandelbrot Set, and, paradoxically, he sometimes reject them because he saw too many of them. I came across this reaction several times with image people and I explain it with the large spreading of free software to explore the Set; too many people tried and stopped too rapidly, obviously on nearly the same pictures, which would have been astounding ten years before, when The Beauty of Fractals was just published, but which now are hackeneyed. There is however much more to see –even in the Mandelbrot Set,– provided the exploration is persued on.

By way of examples, I add a few very simple pictures, obtained some years ago with an Amiga computer, and a few far more advanced pictures, signed by some of the best specialists on the Net. The difference in quality should be undisputable –and this might awake a few more vocations...

Software

Click here to get basic information on the main available programs, together with a few useful links.

Bibliography

Click here to get the references of the various books, articles and web links that I used to prepare these pages.

 

Preceding Page


[ Return to home page ]    [ Art and Fractals Contents ]

Discovering the fractal world:
Introduction - Mandelbrot Exploration - Lyapounov Exploration - Von Koch Curves - IFS Fractals - Fractal Dimension - Mandelbrot Relatives - Finest Fractal Pictures - Software - Biblio and Links

Fractals and mysticism:
Introduction - The Mysticism of Infinite - Non-Euclidean Art?

A new Art?
Introduction - Fascination of Fractals - Fractals and Photography - Definitions of Art - The Colour Choice - Other Colour Choices - Fractalists Painters - Compositions with Mandelbrot - Put a pretty girl - Algorithmic Art - Beyond the "Fractal" Art

e-mail Charles.Rosemarie.Vassallo@wanadoo.fr

image-titre

Premiers pas

Pour le grand public, l'aventure des images fractales commence avec les images de l'ensemble de Mandelbrot. Ces images particulières sont apparues comme des objets magnifiques dès qu'on a pu disposer d'ordinateurs avec des sorties graphiques dignes de ce nom. Une première exposition en 1984 eut un énorme succés, que ses auteurs prolongèrent dans un ouvrage au titre explicite, The Beauty of Fractals, de H.O. Peitgen et P.H. Richter (éd. Springer-Verlag, Berlin, 1986). Quelques années après (86-90), les progrès des micro-ordinateurs popularisaient l'accès à ces images.

Il se cache des mathématiques très ardues derrière cet ensemble de Mandelbrot, mais qu'on peut tout à fait ignorer quand on ne s'intéresse qu'à la beauté des images. Il existe maintenant de nombreux logiciels faciles d'accès et qui permettent d'obtenir des résultats comparables à la figure ci-dessus. Si vous n'en n'avez jamais manié, cliquez ici pour faire une première visite guidée dans l'ensemble de Mandelbrot. Ne vous inquiétez pas, il n'y aura vraiment aucun calcul ! Incidemment, vous aurez aussi un premier contact avec une propriété fondamentale des figures fractales, l'autosimilarité, sur laquelle nous reviendrons à plusieurs reprises.

On peut faire le même genre de promenade dans les figures de Markus-Lyapounov si on dispose d'un programme explorateur pour ce type de fractales.

mandelbrot En fait, il semble bien que ce jaillissement des couleurs, si frappant pour le public profane, ait été une heureuse surprise pour les pionniers mathématiciens des années 70-80. Pour eux, l'ensemble de Mandelbrot était la figure ci-contre et on s'intéressait avant tout à l'architecture compliquée de son contour. Benoît Mandelbrot lui-même évoque cette aventure dans son ouvrage "Les objets fractals" (Flammarion, Paris, 3ème edition en 1989). Cet objet constituait alors une sorte de clé "simplificatrice" pour comprendre et classer le comportement d'autres objets fractaux. Le problème le plus important de l'époque, à lire l'ouvrage de Mandelbrot, était alors de définir des outils permettant de simuler des formes naturelles comme des reliefs montagneux ou des rivages rocheux. L'objectif pratique était de pouvoir obtenir des formes compliquées avec le plus petit nombre de paramètres possibles; on trouvera quelques explications sur ce point par le biais des courbes de Von Koch, qui nous donneront aussi un nouvel exemple de fractale, et l'illustration la plus pure du concept d'autosimilarité. Ces courbes nous serviront aussi plus tard pour introduire la notion de "dimension" d'une ligne fractale.

Les fractales IFS ("Iterated Function Systems") jouent également un grand rôle dans la saga des fractales. Elles ont été développées par Michael Barnsley dans un livre au titre provocateur, Fractals Everywhere (Academic Press, New York, 1988), lui aussi joliment illustré - attention toutefois, ce sont pures mathématiques ! En fait, Barnsley est allé très loin dans son programme de "fractales n'importe où" puisqu'il est parvenu à démontrer que toute image peut se représenter à l'aide d'un "petit" nombre de ces IFS et qu'il en a tiré le procédé de compression des images qu'on trouve aujourd'hui dans le commerce sous le nom de compression fractale. Ce résultat a une certaine importance philosophique, bien résumée dans son titre - les fractales sont partout -, mais il n'en n'a guère dans le domaine artistique dans la mesure où on n'a jamais écrit de programme permettant de composer des images arbitraires à l'aide de ces fractales.

Mais qu'est-ce qu'une fractale ?

A ce niveau de l'exposé, le lecteur serait en droit d'attendre une définition plus claire, exhaustive, de ce qu'est une figure fractale. Je m'en abstiendrai prudemment. Après tout, on peut lire fougère tout l'ouvrage de Mandelbrot sans rencontrer cette définition ! J'en resterai donc à un niveau assez vague. Après les exemples précédents de courbes garanties "fractales" par les savants, nous en resterons à l'idée vague de courbes (ou de surfaces) très irrégulières, avec une autosimilarité plus ou moins marquée, c'est-à-dire que certaines structures se retrouvent un peu partout et à toutes les échelles. C'est très frappant dans la fougère ci-contre, où on retrouve la figure complète en réduction dans chacune des branches, puis, encore plus réduit, dans chacun des sous-branches, etc... Dans la figure précédente de l'ensemble de Mandelbrot, on voit partout des disques portant d'autres petits disques, eux-même portant d'autres disques encore plus petits, mais on sait qu'on trouve aussi des miniatures de l'ensemble tout entier quand on grossit suffisamment la figure. On a vu aussi cette autosimilarité à l'oeuvre dans les courbes de Von Koch. Bien entendu, quand on introduit des facteurs aléatoires dans la construction des fractales, l'autosimilarité stricte est remplacée par un simple air de famille.

Il semble également qu'une courbe fractale doive être dotée d'une dimension fractale pour mériter pleinement le nom, mais nous n'aurons besoin de cette notion qu'une fois, lorsque nous discuterons du label d'art "non-euclidien".

Les fractales pour l'artiste

Pour l'"artiste" - nous discuterons plus tard de cette appellation - on peut considérer qu'il y a deux domaines d'utilisation des fractales.

  • L'artiste dispose d'outils fractaux, le plus souvent des logiciels commerciaux, pour simuler des paysages ou pour obtenir diverses textures avec lesquelles il peut habiller des surfaces dans des logiciels de synthèse d'image. En général, il ne mettra pas en avant le caractère fractal des images obtenues, mais plutôt leur aspect naturel, réaliste, et il ne revendiquera pas le label "art fractal" pour ces oeuvres - sauf quelques cas exceptionnels sur lesquels je reviendrai.

  • Au contraire, les tenants de cet art fractal produisent des images non figuratives, généralement très colorées, à partir de programmes au net parfum de mathématiques appliquées. Typiquement ce genre de programme calcule un nombre pour chaque point de la figure, selon un algorithme plus ou moins complexe, puis traduit ce nombre en couleurs. Pour les algorithmes les plus classiques (figures de Mandelbrot et ses proches parents), il existe des programmes très conviviaux où tous les détails mathématiques sont épargnés à l'utilisateur, et où celui-ci n'a plus que quelques coups de souris à donner pour obtenir ses images - avec un peu de patience toutefois, le temps que les calculs se fassent. Mais il existe aussi des programmes, plus délicats, où l'"artiste" peut préciser lui-même sur quelle fonction mathématique il veut travailler, ajoutant ainsi (peut-être) une nouvelle dimension au caractère artistique de l'oeuvre. Et certains écrivent même complètement leurs programmes. Un point remarquable est que la plupart des logiciels disponibles viennent du domaine public ou semi-public (sharewares).

Il y a une immense variété de figures fractales.

Le grand public connait surtout les figures de l'ensemble de Mandelbrot, et, paradoxalement, il a parfois des réactions de rejet, sous prétexte qu'il a déjà vu ça trop souvent. J'ai rencontré plusieurs fois cette attitude chez des gens d'images et je l'attribue à la large pénétration des programmes gratuits d'exploration de cet ensemble. Trop de gens ont essayé et se sont arrêtés trop rapidement, évidemment sur à peu près toujours les mêmes images, qui auraient paru étonnantes il y a dix ans, lors de la parution de The Beauty of Fractals, mais qui sont devenues banales. Il y a bien d'autres choses à voir (même dans l'ensemble de Mandelbrot, à condition de persévérer).

A titre d'exemple, je joins quelques images très simples, obtenues il y a quelques années sur un logiciel Amiga, et d'autres beaucoup plus évoluées, dues à quelques uns des meilleurs spécialistes accessibles sur Internet. La différence de qualité devrait sauter aux yeux - et aussi éveiller quelques vocations...

Quelques logiciels

Cliquez ici pour avoir une première information sur les principaux logiciels disponibles et quelques liens utiles.

 

Page précédente


[ Retour à la page d'accueil ]    [ Sommaire Art et fractales ]

A la découverte du monde des fractales :
Introduction - Exploration Mandelbrot - Exploration Lyapounov - Courbes de Von Koch - Fractales IFS - Dimension fractale - Cousins de Mandelbrot - Les plus belles fractales - Logiciels - Biblio et liens

Fractales et Mythes :
Introduction - Mystique de l'infini - Art non euclidien?

Un nouvel art ?
Introduction - La fascination des fractales - Fractales et photographie - Définitions de l'Art - Le choix des couleurs - Autres choix de couleurs - Les peintres fractalistes - Compositions avec des Mandelbrot - Une jolie fille devant - Art Algorithmique - Au delà de l'art "fractal"

e-mail Charles.Rosemarie.Vassallo@wanadoo.fr