titre

The trouble with Modern Art largely comes from the words surrounding it. Too often, Art was given the mission of revealing some hidden or out of reach truth –and preferably taking the opposite course to everything accepted so far. Prophets are not celebrated for the clarity of their words. Their exegetes in Art Criticism, while attempting to honouring this sacred ambition, sometimes stated new thruths which were simply myths, or which turned into myths. Some of them can be justified, but others are empty and it would be just as well to deflate them in order to make a bit saner the discourse on Art.

De facto, fractals pictures are part of contemporary Art and they were the focus of various reflexions of this kind. Two of these myths are analysed below.

The self-similarity invites us to a fascinating dive towards the infinitesimal. On the other hand, Benoît Mandelbrot explains in his book how one looked for a fractal pattern in the location of galaxies, in the infinitely great. This conjonction of the two infinites is really fascinating, but that is no reason to sink into a mystical delirium.

More recently, in the presentation of Fractalist Painters, the novelty of these "non-Euclidean" (fractal) pictures was emphasized several times. I am skeptical about the relevance of this non-Euclidean reference.

 

Preceding Page


[ Return to home page ]    [ Art and Fractals Contents ]

Discovering the fractal world:
Introduction - Mandelbrot Exploration - Lyapounov Exploration - Von Koch Curves - IFS Fractals - Fractal Dimension - Mandelbrot Relatives - Finest Fractal Pictures - Software - Biblio and Links

Fractals and mysticism:
Introduction - The Mysticism of Infinite - Non-Euclidean Art?

A new Art?
Introduction - Fascination of Fractals - Fractals and Photography - Definitions of Art - The Colour Choice - Other Colour Choices - Fractalists Painters - Compositions with Mandelbrot - Put a pretty girl - Algorithmic Art - Beyond the "Fractal" Art

e-mail Charles.Rosemarie.Vassallo@wanadoo.fr

titre

Une grande partie du malaise autour de l'art contemporain est née du discours qui l'accompagne. Trop volontiers, on a confié à l'art la mission de révéler des vérités cachées ou inaccessibles - et de préférence, à l'opposé de tout ce qui était précédemment admis. Les prophètes ont rarement brillé par la clarté de leur expression. Leurs exégètes de la critique artistique, dans l'effort de rester à la hauteur de cette ambition sacrée, ont souvent dégagé des vérités nouvelles qui étaient autant de mythes, ou qui le sont devenus. Certains peuvent se justifier, mais d'autres sont creux et il importe de les dégonfler, dans l'espoir de rendre un peu de raison au discours sur l'art.

Les images fractales, de facto, font partie de l'art contemporain et ont déjà fait l'objet de diverses réflexions de ce style. Nous décortiquons deux de ces mythes.

L'autosimilarité invite à une plongée fascinante vers l'infiniment petit. Par ailleurs, Benoît Mandelbrot raconte dans son livre qu'on a cherché une structure fractale dans l'agencement des galaxies, dans l'infiniment grand. Cette conjonction de ces deux infinis a bien de quoi faire rêver, mais sans tomber pour autant dans le délire mystique.

Plus récemment, la présentation du mouvement des peintres fractalistes, parmi divers excès de plume, a insisté à plusieurs reprises sur la nouveauté de ces "images non-euclidiennes". Je doute fortement de l'importance ce caractère "non-euclidien"...

 

Page précédente


[ Retour à la page d'accueil ]    [ Sommaire Art et fractales ]

A la découverte du monde des fractales :
Introduction - Exploration Mandelbrot - Exploration Lyapounov - Courbes de Von Koch - Fractales IFS - Dimension fractale - Cousins de Mandelbrot - Les plus belles fractales - Logiciels - Biblio et liens

Fractales et Mythes :
Introduction - Mystique de l'infini - Art non euclidien?

Un nouvel art ?
Introduction - La fascination des fractales - Fractales et photographie - Définitions de l'Art - Le choix des couleurs - Autres choix de couleurs - Les peintres fractalistes - Compositions avec des Mandelbrot - Une jolie fille devant - Art Algorithmique - Au delà de l'art "fractal"

e-mail Charles.Rosemarie.Vassallo@wanadoo.fr