Non-Euclidean Pictures?

Preceding Page

Twice at least, "non-Euclidean" has been a label of modernism for artistic works in the XXth century.

It first occurred with cubist painters. There was already a firm tradition for the advanced Art of this time to go beyond the limits imposed by traditional conventions, so as to handle the unknown and the hidden. Among the constraints to be shoved out, there was the fact that we are living in a three-dimensional world, and that our vision of it obeys the rules of perspective. Cubists were not the first to attack perspective, but they went very far. Various comments accompanied them and one of them refered to a fourth dimension that artists could have attempted to put on canvas (see Luc Ferry, Le sens du beau, Editions Cercle d'Art, 1998). This fourth dimension would have become fashionable with the first popularizations of Einstein theories, though it is not clear whether one was mentioning time (in this case, cubist representations would have been related with stroboscopies, but this looks unlikely) or some extra spatial dimension. By itself, a fourth spatial dimension does not justify the "non-Euclidean" attribute since mathematicians easily consider Euclidean spaces with 4, 5, 6... dimensions, but, most probably, this simply meant that the artist was going out from the everyday space analyzed by Euclid.

This "non-Euclidean" attribute appeared again in recent comments (in French only, sorry) around the fractalist painters... together with meanings, not always very clear.

  • The journalist Henri François Debailleux connects this term with what I called the "vertigo of the infinite", but undoubtly this dive into the infinite needs some time, so that one recovers the interpretation of the 4th dimension in terms of time. The non-Euclidean feature comes from this extra dimension: "the Euclidean principle has been given up so as to find the perspective which lies in time".

  • Seemingly, the philosopher Christine Buci Glucksmann uses this term with two meanings.

    First she says that fractals do not belong to the tools which are described in the Euclid geometry: "Fractals fascinate artists because they answer to a definite question, namely, how to grasp and create a non-Euclidean and non formalist shape, whatever it may be, a seashore, a cloud, a heap of leaves, the roots of a plant or a cauliflower...", which looks banal enough, insofar as classical artists did not wait for Mandelbrot to paint a cloud or a cauliflower in a realistic manner.

    Then she introduces the notion of dimension with no real explanation: "Fractals are curves with an infinite complexity in a finite space. Hence the key notion of dimension, which no longer is an integer, in the sense of spaces with 2 or 3 dimensions" (what can be understood by the layman?) and seemingly she connects this non-integer dimension with the non-Euclidean character: "on the opposite of the Euclidean handling of shapes, with its constants (right/left, top/bottom, heavy/light...), here, the notion of dimension cannot be separated from a viewpoint." I must confess that I am not sure of the deep meaning of this sentence, but I am afraid that the invocation of the non-integer (fractal) dimension is important in the claim that these shapes are non-Euclidean, i.e. they do not belong to our everyday life.

  • More cautiously, the writer Susan Condé sticks to the fact that fractals do not belong to the set of the Euclid classical figures: "First, let us state simply that a fractal is a kind of shape designed within a non-Euclidean geometry, in the sense that a square comes from the Euclidean geometry", and she thinks that these new shapes will be very important because "every shape embodies a way of thinking... the shape represents a system of thinking, a philosophy of behaviour, a way for modeling", and she expects that new attitudes will emerge from these new shapes.

    Incidentally, this text from Susan Condé comes from a book which should have been published in 1998. It should be interesting to know whether she is aware of the works carried out with the help of Fractint, Tierazon, Flarium and so on, closer to my idea of a popular fractal art, and if so, how she reacts to them.

  • In its 4th point, the manifesto of the Art and Complexity Group (where fractalist painters are gathered) claims: "We give up the Euclidean rationality in favor of unexpected and unplanned processes." Well...

  • Lastly, one of these painters (Cesar Henao) states "a new existential fact: the geometries of the non-Euclidean illusion put forward the fractal and protofractal multimomenta that are crossing the reflexive nature and its projection in the art..."
    Humph!

As a conclusion, the word "non-Euclidian" is ambiguous, because on the one hand it has a very accurate mathematical meaning, while, on the other hand, it was given several popular acceptations which poorly agree. For instance, the label non-Euclidean would apply to

  1. anything involving some extra dimension, beyond the three dimensions of our everyday life

  2. any shape outside the family described by Euclid and his followers, i.e. straight lines, triangles, squares, circles, ellipses... (and the analytical curves, for scientists). Notice that a spherical surface would be Euclidean in these two senses while mathematicians regard it as a non-Euclidian surface. This does not help to clarify the discussion.

  3. any shape with a non-integer "dimension". In my opinion, this definition belongs to either an intellectual terrorism or a trick. How could the layman access to the subtle notion of fractal dimension? Initiated people know that this implies an infinite length, hence the "infinite complexity in a finite space", thus sending us back to to the second definition. But also, this mysterious non-integer dimension suggests that these shapes do not really belong to our everyday space with its neat 2 or 3 dimensions, i.e. it unfairly suggests a return to the first definition

 

Preceding Page


[ Return to home page ]    [ Art and Fractals Contents ]

Discovering the fractal world:
Introduction - Mandelbrot Exploration - Lyapounov Exploration - Von Koch Curves - IFS Fractals - Fractal Dimension - Mandelbrot Relatives - Finest Fractal Pictures - Software - Biblio and Links

Fractals and mysticism:
Introduction - The Mysticism of Infinite - Non-Euclidean Art?

A new Art?
Introduction - Fascination of Fractals - Fractals and Photography - Definitions of Art - The Colour Choice - Other Colour Choices - Fractalists Painters - Compositions with Mandelbrot - Put a pretty girl - Algorithmic Art - Beyond the "Fractal" Art

e-mail Charles.Rosemarie.Vassallo@wanadoo.fr

 

 

 

 

 

 

Notes

Time as 4th dimension : in the Special Theory of Relativity, Einstein introduces a spatiotemporal continuum where time is linked to the three space dimensions. One of the main results is that clock measurements change when the clock is moving.

A 4th space dimension? In the General Theory of Relativity, Einstein concludes that our space-time continuum is "curved". In order to explain this concept of the curvature of a continuum, one speaks of the geometry of a spherical surface, which is a 2-dimension continuum curved in our usual 3-dimension space. A direct analogy leads to invoke an extra dimension in order to "understand" the curvature of the Einstein space-time continuum, that would be an extra 4th space dimension as the popular mind considers time as a special dimension.

In fact there is no need for any extra dimension. The whole geometry for a spherical surface can be carried out while remaining on the surface. One thus gets the results that follows, as simple as surprising.

The geometry of a spherical surface is not Euclidean. In any continuum where lengthes can be measured –as is the case along a sphere,– the "straight line" notion is replaced with the notion of geodesic line, i.e. the shortest way from a point to another one. The geodesic lines along a sphere are its great circles. Therefore, since two great circles are necessarily crossing, the spherical geometry does not satisfy the Euclid postulate, since from a point outside a "straight line", one cannot draw a second straight line "parallel" to the first one, i.e. uncrossing it. The spherical geometry is said Riemanian.

Euclid was a Greek mathematician who lived around the III-Vth century before J.C. and who undertook to write down the whole mathematics of his time. He and his followers thus established the classical geometry in the plane and in the space, demonstrating all the known properties of classical figures (straight lines, triangles, circles, ellipses, and so on) except one of them, of course, the Euclid postulate, which cannot be demonstrated: in a plane, from a point outside a straight line, one can draw one parallel to this line and a single one. The first historical meaning of the non-Euclidean word concerns the geometries that do not satisfy this postulate (Lobatchevski or Riemann), discovered by the end of the XIXth century. For mathematicians, the Euclidean spaces satisfy this property or its extension to spaces with more than 3 dimensions.


Return

Des figures non euclidiennes ?

Page précédente

Par deux fois au moins, l'épithète "non-euclidien" pour un travail artistique aura été un label de modernisme au cours du XXe siècle.

La première apparition de cette épithète vient avec les peintres cubistes. L'art contemporain du moment avait déjà acquis une solide tradition de toujours vouloir aller au-delà des limites, au-delà des conventions, au-delà de l'horizon du moment pour appréhender l'inconnu, l'indicible, le caché. Parmi ces contraintes à bousculer, il y a que nous vivons dans un espace à 3 dimensions et que la vision que nous en avons est soumise aux lois de la perspective. Les cubistes n'étaient pas les premiers à chahuter la perspective mais ils y sont allés très fort, et l'une des diverses explications qui les ont accompagnés faisait référence à une quatrième dimension que les artistes auraient essayé de rendre sur la toile (voir Luc Ferry, Le sens du beau, Editions Cercle d'Art, 1998). Cette quatrième dimension était venue à la mode avec les premières popularisations des théories d'Einstein, sans qu'il soit toujours très clair s'il s'agissait du temps (auquel cas les dessins cubistes seraient apparentés à des stroboscopies) ou s'il s'agissait d'une dimension supplémentaire d'espace. En soi, une quatrième dimension ne justifie pas l'épithète "non-euclidien" puisque les mathématiciens conçoivent aisément des espaces euclidiens à 4, 5, 6... dimensions, mais selon toute vraisemblance, on voulait simplement dire qu'on sortait ainsi de l'espace de tous les jours étudié par Euclide.

Cette épithète "non-euclidien" est réapparue dans les commentaires entourant les peintres fractalistes... avec d'autres significations, pas toujours très claires.

  • Le journaliste Henri François Debailleux lie ce terme à ce que j'ai appelé "vertige de l'infini", mais cette plongée dans l'infini lui demande manifestement du temps, ce qui fait qu'on retrouve l'interprétation temporelle de la 4ème dimension ci-dessus, le caractère non-euclidien venant de cette dimension supplémentaire : "on a abandonné le principe euclidien pour trouver la perspective qui est dans le temps"

  • Il semble que la philosophe Christine Buci Glucksmann emploie ce terme dans deux sens.

    D'abord elle dit que les fractales n'appartiennent pas à l'arsenal décrit dans la géométrie d'Euclide : "la fascination qu'exercent les fractales sur les artistes répond à une question précise : comment appréhender et créer une forme non euclidienne et non formaliste ? Que ce soit une côte, un nuage, un tas de feuilles, une fleur de glace, les racines d'une plante ou un chou-fleur..." ce qui me paraît assez banal. Il me semble bien que les artistes classiques n'ont pas attendu la théorie des fractales pour peindre un nuage ou un chou-fleur de manière réaliste.

    Puis elle introduit la notion de dimension, sans réelle explication "les fractales sont des courbes de complexité infinie dans un espace fini. D'où la notion clef de dimension, qui n'est plus un nombre entier, au sens ou l'on parle d'espace à 2 ou 3 dimensions" (qu'est-ce qu'un non-initié peut bien comprendre ?) et elle semble bien relier cette dimension non entière au caractère non-euclidien : "à la différence de la mesure euclidienne des formes, avec ses constantes (droite/gauche, haut/bas, lourd/léger...), ici la notion de dimension est inséparable d'un point de vue". Je dois avouer que le sens profond de cette phrase m'échappe, mais je crains que l'invocation de la dimension (fractale) non entière ne compte fortement dans l'affirmation du caractère non-euclidien de ces formes, à comprendre comme l'affirmation que ces formes n'appartiennent pas à notre vie de tous les jours.

  • Susan Condé, écrivain, en reste plus prudemment au fait que les figures fractales n'appartiennent pas au registre des figures classiques d'Euclide : "Tout d'abord, disons simplement qu'un fractal est un type de forme conçue dans le cadre d'une géométrie non-euclidienne, de même qu'un carré serait une forme qui relève de la géométrie euclidienne" et elle attache beaucoup d'importance à ces formes nouvelles parce que "Toute forme incarne un système de pensée... la forme représente un système de pensée, une conception du comportement, une façon de modeler" et elle attend que des attitudes nouvelles émergent avec l'emploi de ces formes.

    Incidemment, le texte de Susan Condé qui accompagne l'exposition des peintres fractalistes est un extrait d'un livre qui aurait dû paraître en 1998. Il sera intéressant de voir quel accueil Susan Condé aura fait aux travaux réalisés avec Fractint, Tierazon, Flarium et cie, plus conformes à l'idée que je me fais d'un art fractal populaire.

  • Dans son 4ème point, le manifeste du Groupe Art et Complexité regroupant ces peintres fractalistes déclare : "Nous abandonnons la rationalité euclidienne au profit de processus imprévus et non programmés". Bon...

  • Enfin, l'un de ces peintres (Cesar Henao) annonce "un fait existentiel nouveau : les géométries de l'illusion non-euclidienne font état des multimomentums fractales et proto-fractales qui traversent la nature réflexive et sa projection dans l'art..."
    Hum !

En conclusion, le qualificatif "non-euclidien" est ambigû, à cause du sens mathématique très précis de ce mot et des divers sens populaires qu'on a pu lui attribuer, qui ne se recouvrent pas. Ainsi, serait "non-euclidien" :

  1. - tout ce qui invoquerait une dimension supplémentaire, hors des trois dimensions de notre vie de tous les jours

  2. - toute forme n'appartenant pas au bestiaire décrit par Euclide et ses successeurs, les droites, triangles, carrés, cercles, ellipses... (les courbes analytiques, pour les savants). On notera qu'une surface sphérique serait bien euclidienne dans ces deux sens, alors que les mathématiciens y verront volontiers une surface non-euclidienne. &CCedil;a ne facilite pas la discussion.

  3. - toute forme ayant une "dimension" non entière. Cette définition me paraît ressortir, soit du terrorisme intellectuel, soit de la supercherie. Comment la notion délicate de dimension fractale pourrait-elle être accessible au grand public ? Quand on est initié, on sait que ça implique une longueur infinie, donc la "complexité infinie dans un espace fini", et qu'on revient ainsi à la deuxième définition. Mais aussi, cette mystérieuse dimension non-entière suggère qu'on manipule des êtres qui n'appartiennent pas vraiment à notre espace de tous les jours, à 2 ou 3 dimensions tout rond, c'est-à-dire qu'on fait ainsi resurgir abusivement la première définition.

 

Page précédente


[ Retour à la page d'accueil ]    [ Sommaire Art et fractales ]

A la découverte du monde des fractales :
Introduction - Exploration Mandelbrot - Exploration Lyapounov - Courbes de Von Koch - Fractales IFS - Dimension fractale - Cousins de Mandelbrot - Les plus belles fractales - Logiciels - Biblio et liens

Fractales et Mythes :
Introduction - Mystique de l'infini - Art non euclidien ?

Un nouvel art ?
Introduction - La fascination des fractales - Fractales et photographie - Définitions de l'Art - Le choix des couleurs - Autres choix de couleurs - Les peintres fractalistes - Compositions avec des Mandelbrot - Une jolie fille devant - Art Algorithmique - Au delà de l'art "fractal"

e-mail Charles.Rosemarie.Vassallo@wanadoo.fr

 

 

 

 

 

 

Notes

Le temps comme quatrième dimension : dans la théorie de la Relativité Restreinte, Einstein introduit un continuum spatio-temporel où le temps est lié aux trois dimensions d'espace, l'un des principaux résultats étant que les indications d'une pendule dépendent de la vitesse à laquelle elle se déplace.

Une quatrième dimension d'espace ? Dans la théorie de la Relativité Générale, Einstein est amené à conclure que notre espace-temps est "courbé". Pour faire comprendre cette notion de courbure d'un continuum, on a coutume d'invoquer la géométrie sur la surface d'une sphère, qui forme un continuum à 2 dimensions courbé dans notre espace ordinaire à 3 dimensions. Une analogie directe conduirait à invoquer une dimension supplémentaire pour "comprendre" la courbure de notre espace-temps familier, dimension qui serait une dimension d'espace si on admet que le temps conserve son caractère particulier.

En fait, on n'a pas besoin d'invoquer de dimension particulière. On peut étudier toute la géométrie de la sphère en restant à sa surface, et on aboutit au résultat aussi simple que surprenant du paragraphe suivant.

La géométrie de la surface d'une sphère n'est pas euclidienne. Dans tout continuum où sait mesurer des distances, comme la surface d'une sphère, les "lignes droites" sont remplacées par les géodésiques, les plus courts chemins d'un point à un autre - les grands cercles pour notre sphère -, et comme deux grands cercles non confondus se coupent forcément, la géométrie d'une surface de sphère ne vérifie pas le postulat d'Euclide : par un point extérieur à une "droite", il est impossible de faire passer une autre "droite" parallèle à la première, c.à.d. qui ne la recoupe nulle part. On a affaire à une géométrie riemannienne.

Euclide était un mathématicien grec de l'Antiquité (III-Ve siècle avant J.C.) qui avait entrepris d'écrire toute la mathématique de son temps. Lui et ses successeurs ont notamment décrit la géométrie classique dans le plan et dans l'espace, en démontrant toutes les propriétés connues des figures classiques (droites, triangles, cercles, ellipses, etc...) sauf une, évidemment, le célèbre postulat d'Euclide, qui est indémontrable : dans un plan, par un point hors d'une droite de ce plan, il passe une parallèle à cette droite et une seule. Le premier sens historique du mot non-euclidien concerne les géométries qui ne vérifient pas ce postulat (Lobatchevski ou Riemann), découvertes à la fin du XIXe siècle. Pour les mathématiciens, les espaces euclidiens vérifient ce postulat ou sa généralisation pour 3 dimensions ou plus.


Retour