Von Koch Curves

Preceding Page
image

image image

The genuine Von Koch curve, also called snowflake curve, is derived as the limit of a polygonal contour. At every step, as shown on the left, the middle third of every side of the polygone is replaced with two linear segments at angles 60 and 120.

Starting from an equilateral triangle, the two first steps lead to the star-like curves plotted on the left. If one goes on long enough one finally gets the curve right below. Ideally the process should go on indefinitely, but, in practice, the curve displayed on the screen no longer changes when the elementary side becomes less than the pitch, and then the iterations can be stopped.

What is thus obtained was long considered a mathematical monster, a curve plotted in a bounded domain, but with an infinite length (one easily sees that the length is multiplied by 4/3 at every step), continuous but nowhere differentiable (i.e. nowhere a tangent can be defined). It is now regarded as an elementary example of fractal –"elementary" because of the simplicity of the construction.  

The pattern motif can be seen everywhere along the curve, at every scale, from visible to infinitesimal. This feature is called self-similarity.

For a while, it was thought that such a curve was a possible starting point for the design of tools for drawing complex natural curves (such as the rocky coast of the celebrated example of Benoît Mandelbrot), with a little number of control parameters. Here, the parameters are just the 6 relative coordinates of the indentation points and the result looks really complex when one goes out from the field of classical geometry and its perfectly smooth curves.

Of course, the Von Koch curve does not look like a "natural" curve. It is too regular in its irregularity to simulate the randomness of a rocky coast. This regularity comes from the strictness of its construction process. It can be loosened by introducing random fluctuations (for instance random moves of the indentation points) but, according to Mandelbrot, one gets better simulations tools with other recipes. .

Generalized Von Koch curves

The final curve can be strongly modified when the iteration process is changed. Mandelbrot gives the following example, where the symmetry of the original Von Koch curve is broken:
courbes
But one can think of quite more dramatic changes. The following pattern leads to the famous Peano curve, the continuous curve which completely fills a square. Only the three first steps are displayed below peano but one easily guess that the whole blue square will be filled if the iteration is continued. Please notice that there should not be any rounded angles in the curves; they were placed only for the reader convenience, so as to follow the continuity of the curve more easily.

Also notice that the length of the polygonal line is doubled at every step.

Lastly, the iteration can be made even more complex by introducing periodical reversals or symmetries, by making the lines invisible from time to time and by introducing colour changes. One thus can get quite a lot of different pictures. Several experimental programs were written to explore the possibilities in this way. The pictures below were derived with Fracgen, by Doug Houck (1988, for the Amiga).

fracgen
Obviously, these pictures pertain to curiosity more than to Art, but there was no progress in this way, for lack of more advanced software.

 

Preceding Page


[ Return to home page ]    [ Art and Fractals Contents ]

Discovering the fractal world:
Introduction - Mandelbrot Exploration - Lyapounov Exploration - Von Koch Curves - IFS Fractals - Fractal Dimension - Mandelbrot Relatives - Finest Fractal Pictures - Software - Biblio and Links

Fractals and mysticism:
Introduction - The Mysticism of Infinite - Non-Euclidean Art?

A new Art?
Introduction - Fascination of Fractals - Fractals and Photography - Definitions of Art - The Colour Choice - Other Colour Choices - Fractalists Painters - Compositions with Mandelbrot - Put a pretty girl - Algorithmic Art - Beyond the "Fractal" Art

Courbes de Von Koch

Page précédente
image

image image

La courbe originale de Von Koch, aussi appelée courbe du flocon de neige, s'obtient comme la limite d'un contour polygonal. A chaque étape, comme illustré ci-contre, chaque côté du polygone est indenté sur son tiers médian par deux segments à 60 et 120.

La construction originale de Von Koch part du triangle équilatéral ci-contre à gauche, et les deux premières étapes donnent les figures suivantes. En continuant suffisamment longtemps, on arrive à la figure ci-dessous. En pratique, la courbe affichée sur un écran ne varie plus quand le segment élémentaire tombe en dessous de la distance entre deux pixels, et on peut arrêter le processus, mais dans l'idéal mathématique, on continue indéfiniment.

On arrive ainsi à ce qui a longtemps été considéré comme une monstruosité mathématique, une courbe de longueur infinie (on voit aisément que le périmètre est multiplié par 4/3 à chaque tour) inscrite dans un domaine borné, et dérivable nulle part (c.à.d. nulle part on ne peut définir de tangente), et qu'on voit maintenant comme un exemple élémentaire de courbe fractale, "élémentaire" à cause de la simplicité du procédé de construction.  

On constate que le motif motif est omniprésent dans la figure, dans toutes les orientations et à toutes les échelles possibles. C'est cela qu'on appelle autosimilarité.

On a pu penser un moment qu'une telle courbe pourrait servir de modèle dans la recherche des outils pouvant tracer des lignes naturelles complexes (comme une côte rocheuse, selon l'exemple célèbre de Benoît Mandelbrot) avec un petit nombre de paramètres. Ici, les "paramètres" se réduisent à peu de choses, les coordonnées relatives des 3 points d'indentation, et le résultat a l'air vraiment complexe quand on vient du domaine de la géométrie classique et ses courbes bien lisses.

Bien entendu, la courbe de Von Koch n'a pas l'air d'une courbe "naturelle". Elle est trop régulière dans son irrégularité pour simuler les irrégularités d'une côte rocheuse. Cette régularité est due à la rigidité totale du processus itératif. On peut la casser en introduisant des fluctuations aléatoires (par exemple, en faisant varier les points d'indentation et les angles autour de 60 et 120), mais d'après Mandebrot, on préfère utiliser d'autres recettes pour de telles simulations.

Courbes de Von Koch généralisées

On peut changer l'allure de la courbe finale en modifiant le processus d'indentation. Mandelbrot donne l'exemple ci-dessous, où la symétrie de la courbe originale est cassée:
courbes
Mais on peut faire des modifications beaucoup plus radicales. Le motif suivant conduit à la célèbre courbe de Péano, la courbe continue qui remplit tout un carré. On ne figure ci-dessous que les trois premières étapes, peano mais on devine aisément qu'on va remplir tout le carré bleu si on poursuit l'itération. Précisons qu'il ne devrait pas y avoir d'arrondis; ceux-ci n'ont été ajoutés que pour la commodité de lecture, pour mieux suivre la continuité de la courbe.

Notez aussi que la longueur de la ligne polygonale double à chaque itération.

Enfin, on peut compliquer encore le processus en introduisant périodiquement divers renversements ou symétries, en rendant invisibles les segments à certains moments, enfin en changeant les couleurs de tracé d'une itération à l'autre. On aboutit ainsi à des figures extrêmement variées. Divers programmes expérimentaux ont été écrits pour en explorer les possibilités. Les figures ci-dessous ont été obtenues avec le programme Fracgen, de Doug Houck (1988, pour l'Amiga).

fracgen
Bien entendu, ces images ressortent plus de la curiosité que de l'art, mais on n'est pas allé plus loin dans cette voie, faute d'une évolution de ces programmes.

 

Page précédente


[ Retour à la page d'accueil ]    [ Sommaire Art et fractales ]

A la découverte du monde des fractales :
Introduction - Exploration Mandelbrot - Exploration Lyapounov - Courbes de Von Koch - Fractales IFS - Dimension fractale - Cousins de Mandelbrot - Les plus belles fractales - Logiciels - Biblio et liens

Fractales et Mythes :
Introduction - Mystique de l'infini - Art non euclidien?

Un nouvel art ?
Introduction - La fascination des fractales - Fractales et photographie - Définitions de l'Art - Le choix des couleurs - Autres choix de couleurs - Les peintres fractalistes - Compositions avec des Mandelbrot - Une jolie fille devant - Art Algorithmique - Au delà de l'art "fractal"